John Carpenter’s Halloween Ends Gets Release

John Carpenter's Halloween Ends Gets Release
John Carpenter's Halloween Ends Gets Release

45 years, the most acclaimed, revered horror franchise in film history has reached its epic, terrifying conclusion with today’s theatrical release of Halloween Ends, in which Laurie Strode faces off for the last time against the embodiment of evil, Michael Myers.

As Halloween Ends marks the last chapter of the trilogy, it also ushers in the return of original composer and director of 1978’s Halloween, John Carpenter, who composed the new film’s score alongside longtime collaborators Cody Carpenter and Daniel Davies. The Halloween Ends Original Motion Picture Soundtrack is available now digitally, with physical editions to follow on January 20th via Sacred Bones. The film is also augmented by original music by dark dance outfit Boy Harsher. Sacred Bones and Nude Club/City Slang joined forces to release their contribution to the soundtrack “Burn It Down”, a maxi single containing two songs and their instrumental versions, also released digitally today with 12″ vinyl EP to follow on January 20th, 2023.

Similar to the last two soundtracks, Halloween Ends was recorded in its entirety at John Carpenter’s home studio and Daniel’s studio. The soundtrack of the third installment broadens old themes whilst creating new ones in an effort to bring renewed life to one of the most epic horror scores ever written. The general atmosphere is one of dread, yet the record includes some groove laden moments reminiscent of Escape From New York or some of Carpenter’s other more dance-able scores. Exquisite and delicate ambient pieces weave their way between some of the score’s more arresting moments and yet maintain a subtle pop sensibility. The overall achievement showcases three master musicians, one of whom invented the entire horror-synth genre, crafting an evocative, playful, and deeply listenable score that honors a legacy and expands on the decades of work that have been leading to this triumphant climax.

In conjunction with the film and soundtrack release, Rough Trade and Rockefeller Center have announced a very special Halloween Ends event featuring a screening of the new Halloween Ends film followed by a DJ set from Boy Harsher at NYC’s Rainbow Room to take place October 31st, 2022. Entry to the event is available, on a first-come-first served basis from the online DICE store here.

Halloween Ends Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
Sacred Bones

1. Where Is Jeremy?
2. Halloween Ends (Main Title)
3. Laurie’s Theme Ends
4. The Cave
5. Drags To The Cave
6. Evil Eyes
7. Transformation
8. Because of You
9. Requiem For Jeremy
10. Kill The Cop
11. Corey and Michael
12. Corey’s Requiem
13. The Junk Yard
14. Where Are You?
15. Bye Bye Corey
16. The Fight
17. Before Her Eyes
18. The Procession
19. Cherry Blossoms
20. Halloween Ends (End Titles)

Boy Harsher
Burn It Down EP

1. Burn It Down – Rework
2. Burn It Down
3. Burn It Down – Rework (Instrumental)
4. Burn It Down (Instrumental)


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.