Joanna Gruesome announces New Album

Joanna Gruesome announces New LP 'Peanut Butter.'

Joanna Gruesome have announced that their new album Peanut Butter will be released on June 2 via Slumberland (US) and May 11 via Fortuna POP! (UK) and Turnstile (ROW). The band has issued the following warning about the album: “a marriage of radical politics with peanut butter spread”.

Peanut Butter was recorded by MJ from Hookworms, with the aim of heightening the group’s “pop” and “aggressive” elements. As songwriter Owen Williams explains: “We tried to make it shorter, more economical and attempted to pack as many hooks and screams in as quickly possible in order to avoid short changing the consumer or wasting her/his/their time. Lyrically it’s more obtuse and surreal but also attempts to mock trad masculine rock themes whenever things do get more lucid. But sometimes musically we embrace them by doing embarrassing guitar solos. I’m not sure how much else I’m at liberty to say but one thing I will disclose is that the record is a response to threats posed by rival groups.”

Joanna Gruesome are Alanna McArdle (vocals), Owen Williams (guitar), Max Warren (bass), George Nicholls (guitar) and David Sandford (drums), the band all originally met on a wine tasting holiday.

Joanna Gruesome

Peanut Butter

[Slumberland Records]

Release Date: June 2, 2015

Track List: 


Last Year
Jamie (Luvver)
Honestly Do Yr Worst
There Is No Function Stacy
I Don’t Wanna Relax
Jerome (Liar)
Separate Bedrooms
Psykick Espionage
Hey! I Wanna Be Yr Best Friend


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.