“Getting Along” by The Magic Gang

The Magic Gang will release their self-titled debut album on March 16th on Yala! Records. The announcement comes after the band’s new single “Getting Along” premiered last night in the UK. The album presents a twelve-track snapshot of everything that The Magic Gang are about. The buoyant bangers that have been mainstays of their raucous live shows are represented by the likes of ‘Jasmine’, ‘All This Way’ and ‘All That I Want Is You’. The latter song was inspired by tales from Brian Wilson’s controversial autobiography ‘Wouldn’t It Be Nice’, especially in regards to his reclusive years following the peak of The Beach Boys’ success.

The album also includes the recent singles ‘Alright’, ‘Your Love’ and ‘How Can I Compete’ alongside moodier, piano-orientated, harmony-rich material such as ‘Take Care’ and bittersweet, singer-songwriter vibes on ‘I’ll Show You’.

The majority of the album was produced by Jolyon Thomas (Royal Blood, Slaves), while James Dring (Loyle Carner, Jamie T) and former Maccabees guitarist Hugo White both produced a track each. Every song was written by the band – Paeris Giles (drums), Jack Kaye (guitar/vocals), Kris Smith (vocals/guitar) and Angus Taylor (bass).

The Magic Gang
The Magic Gang

1. ‘Oh Saki’
2. ‘All This Way’
3. ‘Getting Along’
4. ‘Alright’
5. ‘Caroline’
6. ‘Jasmine’
7. ‘Take Care’
8. ‘Slippin’
9. ‘Your Love’
10. ‘How Can I Compete’
11. ‘I’ll Show You’
12. ‘All That I Want Is You’

Deluxe Edition – bonus tracks
13. ‘Fade Away’
14. ‘Getting Along’ (acoustic)
15. ‘All That I Want Is You’ (acoustic)
16. ‘Bruises’

After touring with Wolf Alice and Sundara Karma, the band’s forthcoming headline tour runs as below:

22 – Birmingham, O2 Institute 2 (SOLD OUT)
23 – Manchester, Academy 2 (SOLD OUT)
24 – Leeds, The Church (SOLD OUT)
25 – Glasgow, King Tuts (SOLD OUT)
27 – Bristol, Thekla (SOLD OUT)
28 – London, Electric Ballroom