Dumb Numbers stream “Unbury The Hatchet”

Dumb Numbers Shares new "Unbury The Hatchet"

Dumb Numbers is Australian musician Adam Harding, along with a rotating cast of friends & contributors that includes Lou Barlow (Dinosaur Jr./Sebadoh), Dale Crover (Melvins), David Yow (the Jesus Lizard/Scratch Acid), Murph (Dinosaur Jr.), Bobb Bruno (Best Coast) and more. The band’s sophomore LP, Dumb Numbers II, is due out August 19th via Joyful Noise Recordings.

Today, they share album track “Unbury The Hatchet,” which features lead vocals from David Yow, plus electronic soundscapes and Tuvan throat singing by Einsturzende Neubauten’s Alexander Hacke. You can stream the track.

Where being in a band can be like a marriage, Dumb Numbers is more of an open relationship: with no definitive lineup, it’s primarily a recording project, and live performances are rare. 

Dumb Numbers II comes as a follow-up to the band’s 2013 S/T release, which saw them tour with My Bloody Valentine. The new album’s cover art (below) is by Malcolm Bucknall, who has only allowed his artwork to be used on three records previously: two Jesus Lizard albums and the band’s 1993 split with Nirvana. The cover of Dumb Numbers II features a Bucknall painting called “My Bohemian Rhapsody.”

Dumb Numbers II Track Listing:
1. My Mantra
2. Will You Earn A Star
3. Girl On The Screen
4. Essence — Existence
5. No-One
6. Unbury The Hatchet
7. Wonder Why
8. Sometimes There’s No Next Time