Dry Cleaning announce New LP Stumpwork

Dry Cleaning have revealed, their new album, Stumpwork, will drop on October 21, via 4AD. The band have shared single/video “Don’t Press Me”
Dry Cleaning photo by Ben Rayner

Dry Cleaning have revealed, their new album, Stumpwork, will drop on October 21, via 4AD. along with the news, the London based band have shared lead single/video, “Don’t Press Me.” The LP was inspired by a plethora of events, concepts and political debacles, be they represented in the icy mess of ambient elements reflecting a certain existential despair, or the surprising warmth in celebrating the lives of loved ones lost through the previous year. Stumpwork is the follow-up to New Long Leg, Dry Cleaning’s debut

“Don’t Press Me” is about the pleasure of gaming and the enjoyment of intense and short-lived guilt-free experiences. Vocalist Florence Shaw also says, “The words in the chorus came about because I was trying to write a song to sing to my own brain, ‘You are always fighting me / You are always stressing me out.’” Its animated video was created by Peter Millard, whose naïve depictions of the band is perfectly in sync with the song’s hooks and riffs.

Nick Buxton (drums), Tom Dowse (guitar), Lewis Maynard (bass) and Florence Shaw (vocals) returned to rural Wales in late 2021, partnering once more with Parish and engineer Joe Jones. Working from a position of trust in the same studio and with the same team, imposter syndrome and anxiety was replaced by a fresh freedom and openness to explore beyond an already rangy sonic palette, a newfound confidence in their creative vision. A longer period in the studio afforded the time to experiment, improvise, play, and sharpen their table tennis skills.

The album and single artwork were conceived and created by multi-disciplinary artists Rottingdean Bazaar and photographer Annie Collinge. James Theseus Buck and Luke Brooks of Rottingdean Bazaar, who first worked with Dry Cleaning directing the official video for “Scratchcard Lanyard”.

Dry Cleaning
Stumpwork
Tracklist

1. Anna Calls From The Arctic
2. Kwenchy Kups
3. Gary Ashby
4. Driver’s Story
5. Hot Penny Day
6. Stumpwork
7. No Decent Shoes For Rain
8. Don’t Press Me
9. Conservative Hell
10. Liberty Log
11. Icebergs

Dry Cleaning 2022 Tour Dates

Thu. June 16 – Edinburgh, UK @ Hidden Door Festival
Fri. June 17 – York, UK @ Castle Howard w/ Duran Duran
Sat. June 18 – Helsinki, FI @ Sideways Festival
Tue. June 21 – Zagreb, HR @ INmusic Festival
Fri. June 24 – Pilton, UK @ Glastonbury Festival
Sat. July 2 – Ewijk, NL @ Down The Rabbit Hole
Sun. July 3 – Werchter, BE @ Rock Werchter
Sat. July 9 – Milwaukee, WI @ Summerfest
Sun. July 10 – Bloomington, IN @ The Bishop
Mon. July 11 – Nashville, TN @ The Basement East
Tue. July 12 – Columbus, OH @ Ace of Cups
Thu. July 14 – Cleveland Heights, OH @ Grog Shop
Fri. July 15 – Detroit, MI @ El Club
Sat. July 16 – Chicago, IL @ Pitchfork Music Festival
Sat. July 23 – Nottingham, UK @ Rough Trade (in-store)
Sun. July 24 – Hertfordshire, UK @ Standon Calling
Fri. July 29 – Co Waterford, IE @ All Together Now
Sun. July 31 – Thirsk, UK @ Deer Shed Festival
Sat. Aug. 6 – Katowic, PL @ OFF Festival
Thu. Aug. 11 – Haldern, DE @ Haldern Pop Festival
Fri. Aug. 19 – Crickhowell, UK @ Green Man Festival
Thu. Aug. 25 – London, UK @ All Points East
Sat. Aug. 27 – Manchester, UK @ Dept Mayfield w/ The National
Sun. Sept. 18 – Los Angeles, US @ Primavera Sound LA
Fri. Nov. 11 – Utrecht, NL @ Le Guess Who? Festival

Pre-order Stumpwork by Dry Cleaning HERE