“Drowning” By The Waeve

“Drowning” By The Waeve is Northern Transmissions Song of the Day. The track is off the duo's self-titled album, available February 3, 2023
“Drowning” By The Waeve is Northern Transmissions Song of the Day

To mark the release of their upcoming album out February 3, 2023 on Transgressive Records, “Drowning”, the new single from The WAEVE, composed of Graham Coxon and Rose Elinor Dougall. A haunting song, “Drowning” is the second track to be released from the band’s first studio album, and follows “Can I Call You”, which was accompanied by a video directed by David J. East.

“Drowning is one of the more meandering, cinematic songs on the album. The song touches on themes of allowing oneself to be subsumed by forces you can’t deny, whether that be romantically or life in general, of giving into the delicious risk of total failure and oblivion, despite one’s better judgment… Lyrically it comes from two different perspectives, with Rose’s vocal beginning as an intimate half secret, which then expands into soaring strings. By the end we hear Graham’s refrain, acquiescing to the rising tides of intensity and acceptance of a shared fate – “Hold on to me as the waters rise. Drowning again…” Graham Coxon and Rose Elinor Dougall, The WAEVE

Produced by The Waeve and James Ford (Arctic Monkeys, Florence & The Machine, Foals, HAIM) and recorded in London earlier this year, The WAEVE is a collection of 10 new tracks from songwriters Graham Coxon and Rose Elinor Dougall. Joining creative forces in The WAEVE gave the duo the opportunity to push past their instrumental comfort zones. Many tracks feature Graham on saxophone, one of the first instruments he played as a young musician back in the 80s. First single “Can I Call You” starts as a ballad then morphs into a krautrock-style motorik number with a sprawling Coxon guitar solo. “All Along” features Graham on cittern, a medieval folk lute. Rose plays piano and an ARP 2000 modular synth. The heavy weather all over The WAEVE recalls the blustery folk rock of Sandy Denny or John & Beverly Martyn, while tracks such as “Kill Me Again” and “Over and Over” recall the 70s rock of Kevin Ayers or Van der Graaf Generator, almost industrial in places.

The Waeve
The Waeve
Track listing
Transgressive Records

1 Can I Call You
2 Kill Me Again
3 Over And Over
4 Sleepwalking
5 Drowning
6 Someone Up There
7 All Along
8 Undine
9 Alone And Free
10 You’re All I Want To Know

Pre-order The Waeve HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.