“Devil Is Loose” James Righton

"Devil Is Loose" by James Righton (Klaxons), is Northern Transmissions' 'Song of the Day,' the track is off the singer/songwriter's LP The Performer
"Devil Is Loose" by James Righton

James Righton (Klaxons) will release his debut solo album The Performer on March 20, via the Soulwax-run label DEEWEE. Ahead of the release James shares another new track titled “Devil Is Loose”. “Devil is Loose’ is my take on the worrying rise of extremism/populism/nihilism,” Righton explains. “Musically I wanted it to sound like a bad acid trip with the devil.”

The Performer was written, performed and produced by James Righton, with the help of some select collaborators. James Ford (The Last Shadow Puppets, Simian Mobile Disco) performed drums throughout and bass on two tracks; Sean O’Hagan (High Llamas, Microdisney) contributed string arrangements; saxophone was provided by Jorja Chalmers (Bryan Ferry); and Josephine Stephenson (Thom Yorke, Ex:Re) contributed additional piano and string arrangements. It was recorded at a handful of locations, notably Righton’s home studio, Bryan Ferry’s Studio One. It was subsequently mixed by David and Stephen Dewaele (aka Soulwax, aka 2manydjs) at DEEWEE in Ghent, Belgium.

The album flits between two core themes. Fatherhood has changed Righton’s life. It’s altered the relationship with his wife Keira Knightley, which he explores on the 90s-tinged pop-rock of “Start” and the crescendo that soars through “Lessons In Dreamland, Pt2”. But there are simpler emotions too, with the unrequited love and sweet harmonies of “Edie”, a song he wrote for his daughter when she was just a few days old.

James Righton
The Performer
Track listing

1. The Performer
2. Edie
3. See The Monster
4. Devil Is Loose
5. Lessons In Dreamland, Pt. 1
6 . Start
7 . Are You With Me?
8 . Heavy Heart
9 . Lessons In Dreamland, Pt. 2

James Righton
Tour Dates

3/25/2020 – London, UK – Bethnal Green Working Men’s Club


“Eddie” James Righton