Courtney Marie Andrews “Ships In The Night”

Courtney Marie Andrews has debuted a performance video for “Ships In The Night.” The track is off her current release Old Flowers
Courtney Marie Andrews "Ships In The Night"

Courtney Marie Andrews is debuting a new performance video for her song, “Ships In The Night,” today. Filmed live at The Parthenon in Nashville. The track is off the singer/songwriters new release, Old Flowers, which has been nominated for Best Americana Album at the 63rd GRAMMY Awards. Produced by Andrew Sarlo (Bon Iver, Big Thief), Old Flowers was released this past summer on Fat Possum Records and features Andrews’ most vulnerable writing to date, chronicling her journey through heartbreak, loneliness and finding herself again after it all.

In addition to Andrews (vocals, acoustic guitar, piano), the album features only two other musicians: Matthew Davidson (bass, celeste, mellotron, pedal steel, piano, pump organ, wurlitzer, background vocals) and Big Thief’s James Krivchenia (drums, percussion).

Of their intention, Sarlo adds, “Before we got to the studio, we agreed to prioritize making this record as cathartic and minimal as possible—focusing on Courtney’s voice and her intention behind the songs. Because of this, the record is all about performance. I believe a great recording is the chemistry between everything during basics and the ability to feel something happening instead of obsessing over the perfect take. Courtney embraced this approach and we ended up with a raw, natural and human record.”

Courtney Marie Andrews
Old Flowers
Track List
Fat Possum Records

1. Burlap String
2. Guilty
3. If I Told
4. Together Or Alone
5. Carnival Dream
6. Old Flowers
7. Break The Spell
8. It Must Be Someone Else’s Fault
9. How You Get Hurt
10. Ships In The Night


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.