“Knocking” by Basement Revolver

"Knocking" Basement Revolver is Northern Transmissions 'Song of the Day
"Knocking" Basement Revolver

Hamilton, Ontario’s indie-rock band Basement Revolver releases “Knocking”, the second single from their forthcoming album Heavy Eyes, which is due out via Sonic Unyon Records on August 24.

Vocalist Chrisy Hurn on “Knocking”:

“‘Knocking’ is probably the heaviest song on the album for me, personally,” says vocalist Chrisy Hurn. “I often still can’t sing it without crying. I wrote it after writing my family a long letter that came clean about my past, and about some of the shit that I have been through. Hard things that left me feeling shameful, or like a disappointment to them…. I got to a point where I didn’t recognize myself, or all the anger that I was holding inside. I basically kept telling myself that I was garbage, broken, unlovable.”

For their debut full-length, the Basement Revolver returned to local studio TAPE where they had recorded both their EPs. Having developed a solid relationship with producers Adam Bentley and Jordan Mitchell, they continued to hone their signature sound, finding the freedom to get heavier for some songs and more laid-back for others. As Hurn explains; “It also gave me the confidence as a writer to not take myself so seriously, to let myself get cheesy or goofy with some songs.”

Bringing together the talents of Chrisy Hurn (vocals, guitar), Nimal Agalawatte (bass, synth), and Brandon Munro (drums), the band has enjoyed a steady upward trajectory since the success of their debut single “Johnny” in 2016. They followed with the single “Words”, flagged up in several end of year lists, and 2017’s Agatha EP, whose the single “Bread & Wine” reached the B-list on Radio BBC 6 Music.

Basement Revolver
Heavy Eyes

01 Baby
02 Johnny
03 Dancing
04 Friends
05 Knocking
06 Johnny Pt. 2
07 Words
08 Wait
09 Tree Trunks
10 You’re Okay
11 Heavy Eyes
12 Diamonds

Expect Basement Revolver to announce new live dates in the near future.


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.