Youngblood guest on ‘Records In My Life’

We had a very laugh filled interview with Alexis and Malcolm of the band Youngblood on the evening of their Feel Alright EP release at the Fox Cabaret last week. The two shared some of their mutually influential albums as well as early favourites and an undying love of Steely Dan’s Aja (well Malcolm at least). We all definitely had a lot of fun shooting this one!

Youngblood is the creative dream-pop brainchild of Alexis Young. Inspired by the likes of French electronic duo Air, the fiery Grace Jones, and a little bit of sultry Nancy Sinatra,Youngblood manages to mix dreamy, marshmallow sounds laced with dark, pulsating grooves, crafting a unique blend of pop. Prior to Youngblood, Alexis cut her teeth as the keyboardist/vocalist for the new wave group Sex with Strangers. The first single ‘Easy Nothing’, released May 2015 online, was produced by Kevvy Mental (Fake Shark, Carly Rae Jepsen), while Youngblood’s forthcoming EP has Alexis writing with the multi-disciplinary Parker Bossley (Gay Nineties, Mounties, Fur Trade) and produced/engineered by Juno-nominated DJ and producer Sleepy Tom (Fool’s Gold Records).

This Youngblood episode of RIML references the following albums:
1. Frank OCean – Channel Orange
2. Air – Love 2
3. Stars – Set Yourself on Fire
4. Anderson Paak – Malibu
5. Tops – Picture You Staring
6. Steely Dan – Aja
7. Bob Marley – Exodus
8. The Strokes – Is This It


Sorry, we couldn't find any posts. Please try a different search.


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.