“The Winter Hymn” by Pantha Du Prince

German techno auteur Pantha Du Prince (aka Hendrik Weber) will release The Triad on May 20th, his first proper studio album since his 2010 release Black Noise, and 2013’s collaboration with The Bell Laboratory, Elements of Light. Today also sees the release of the The Winter Hymn 12”, which features the album cut along with the exclusive track “Post Human Palisades (feat. Bendik & Kassian)” and an extended mix of the album track “Dream Yourself Awake.” The Triad will be previewed to the public at a special early listening event Thursday February 25th at Verboten in Brooklyn, NY.

On the new album’s conceptual framework Weber says, “Black Noise was very much about me being alone in a small room in Berlin and composing. The Triad opens the structure to more human ways of interacting, not digitized ways of interacting. It’s not about Facebook; it’s about meeting up and jamming. I wanted to cut through the digital dust that surrounds us.”

In addition to the album announcement and 12” release, he has shared a video for “The Winter Hymn,” directed by Pantha Du Prince himself featuring a masked Weber with “The Triad,” a group of musicians including Scott Mou (Queens) and Bendik Kjeldsberg of the Bell Laboratory who feature heavily on the album, as they and a dancing woman perform ritualistic gestures in characteristically psychedelic environs.

Pantha Du Prince – The Triad
(May 20th, 2016 – Rough Trade)

1. The Winter Hymn (feat. Queens)

2. You What? Euphoria!

3. Frau im Mond, Sterne Laufen

4. In An Open Space (feat. Queens)

5. Chasing Vapour Trails (feat. Joachim Schultz & Kassian von Troyer)

6. Lichterschmaus

7. Dream Yourself Awake

8. Lions Love (feat. Joachim)

9. Islands In The Sky

10. Wallflower for Pale Saints


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.