School Of Night (The Antlers) To Release EP

School Of Night (The Antlers) - "School Of Night" EP (out 14/10/13 via Transgressive Records)

Darby Cicci, multi-instrumentalist and producer of The Antlers, is set for the debut of his solo project School of Night. The group’s self-titled EP is out October 14 in the UK on Transgressive Records. Listen to lead track ‘Lying’ above:

The School of Night EP was written, recorded and produced between 2011-2012 mostly during Cicci’s brief breaks from recording and touring with The Antlers. “I would go to my studio, play synths in the dark, collect sounds that I love and try to build little worlds I could just dissolve into and explore,” Cicci notes of the writing and recording process. “At first it was mostly playtime and I wasn’t planning on releasing it, but if I’ve learned anything from my experiences, it’s that the more you open up and share about yourself, the more you’ll learn.”

Cicci is best known as multi-instrumentalist, composer and producer for The Antlers since the group’s formation in 2007. Cicci produced The Antlers’ last two critically acclaimed albums, Burst Apart (2011) and Undersea (2012), as well as records for Porcelain Raft and Yellow Ostrich. He has also made countless remixes for artists including Neon Indian, PVT and Freelance Whales.


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.