Suicideyear releases video for “Flood”

Suicideyear releases new video for "Flood"

Scored by Suicideyear, “Flood” is a film that shows a near-future Louisiana where young and old are lost in a grand, social-action-role-play-game. In the real world, cities and projects lie abandoned.

Director Peter Marsden (of LuckyMe) shot the film this past summer, with dialogue taken from real interviews conducted with children around New Orleans. Suicideyear’s “Flood,” taken from his latest EP Hate Songs, soundtracks the film: it’s vocal swells and clattering hip hop drums set the perfect backdrop to a world between the real and the digital. “Flood” is the 5th in a series of music films from the LuckyMe roster

Suicideyear aka James Prudhomme hails from the home of No Limit Records – Baton Rouge, Louisiana. His sound is indebted to his environment – menacing tuned 808 drums coupled with angst-ridden emotive synth work – inspired by early shoegaze and punk bands throughout his formative teenage years. First coming to attention via his split single with Kaytranada on Bromance in 2013, he followed with the highly praised Remembrance EP on Oneohtrix Point Never’s Software label alongside a vinyl reissue of his 2013 beat tape Japan.

LuckyMe first met Prudhomme whilst on tour with S-Type in the Louisiana – leading to numerous collaborations including a stellar reworking of Jacques Greene’s “After Life After Party” and joining the crews SXSW showcases and numerous other live events.

Hate Songs EP
July 28th, 2017
(LuckyMe Records)

1. Summer Hate
2. Mosh Mosh (Julie’s Song)
3. Flood (Autumn Hate)
4. Spent Days Watching Horses Die
5. Alert (Winter Hate)
6. Lagniappe (Spring Hate)