Silicon Drops New Track “Cellphone”

Silicon Drops New Track "Cellphone", the song, his his third single from his forthcoming release 'Personal Compiter'

August 28th, sees the release of Personal Computer, the debut album from Silicon, aka Kody Nielson, Via Weird World. Previously, the New Zealand-based musician has the singles “God Emoji” and “Burning Sugar.” Today he offers up a third taste from the record in the form of “Cellphone.”

Personal Computer is a electronica record that features Nielson’s soul, funk, and disco influenced songwriting against a backdrop of extra-terrestrial noir sonics, calling to mind the varied likes of Flying Lotus, Panda Bear and Daft Punk in the process, as well as that of the project of Nielson’s brother Ruban, Unknown Mortal Orchestra, with whom Kody co-wrote and co-produced the new album Multi-Love and who was also his former band-mate in cult New Zealand punk group The Mint Chicks.

The release of Personal Computer will be augmented by a series of twenty-nine paintings of Kody’s ‘Emoji’ icon, which adorn the artwork, and will subsequently be exhibited in New York and London, and made available for sale after the album’s release. The Silicon live experience, which has already manifested itself in the U.K. and Europe, will not be subscribing to the usual dreary linear path that is the default mode of the less imaginative.

Silicon – Personal Computer
(Weird World – August 28th, 2015)

1. Personal Computer
2. Cellphone
3. Submarine
4. God Emoji
5. Burning Sugar
6. Little Dancing Baby
7. I Can See Paradise
8. Love Peace
9. Blow
10. Dope