“Shoe” By Matt Maltese

Matt Maltese, recently dropped “Shoe,” the latest single off his forthcoming release Good Morning It’s Now Tomorrow, available October 8, 2021 via Nettwerk Records. The single follows, ‘Mystery’ which was co-produced by Maltese and Margate producer Tom Carmichael with mixing by Noah Georgeson.

Speaking about ‘Shoe’, Maltese said: “It’s a sincere, slightly warped march in the name of love. I think that some of the most meaningful things can be both stupid and serious, and with ‘Shoe’ I’ve tried to walk that wire.”

“A lot of this [new] record is escapism,” he explains of Good Morning It’s Now Tomorrow, written and recorded between his London home and Echo Zoo studios on England’s south coast during the U.K.’s year-long lockdown. “I’ve had to find more meaning out of the small parts of life. I want this record to celebrate the theatre in all the small things. It’s so cheesy to say it, but I think life is best when you try to make the ordinary extraordinary.”

This sense of embracing positivity and romanticising the everyday runs throughout. “The love songs in particular I think feel in hindsight like they’re me stepping outside of the present, touching on moments in the past or daydreaming what tomorrow might look like,” Maltese explains. “They’re everything I want and think love to be – too-romantic, genuine, strange, a little gross, silly, normal, imperfect, all at once.” In his quest to capture the intensity of the feelings we share each and every day, the record represents Maltese’s biggest step forward so far.

Understandably, for an album written entirely at home during a worldwide pandemic, some feelings of helplessness also crept into the writing process. Never is that more striking than on ‘Good Morning’, a breezy pop song studded with dark lyrics about witch hunts and armageddon. “It’s about the slow moving beast that moves everything forward,” Maltese says, reflecting on a rare moment the album dives into something like realism. “No matter how many people are dying and how much tragedy there is, society still moves forwards. I wanted to reflect on that and talk about how a lot of everyday life is about making peace with that powerlessness. There were a lot of moments last year of thinking, “Fuck, how do we change things and will these systems of power ever really change until it gets literally apocalyptic?” It’s a little bit of me saying I don’t know what I can do but I’ll think every day about how I can be a better part of this world.”

“In many ways this album is me simply being in awe of everything and confused but at peace,”Maltese says when summing up the album. “I never want to sound hopeless or like I get it, because I don’t. Life feels like a search but that’s the whole point.” Finally comfortable in life’s many uncomfortable positions, the new album is Matt Maltese admitting that he doesn’t have the answers he once thought he did and, most importantly, finding peace in knowing that none of us ever will.

Matt Maltese

1. Good Morning
2. Shoe
3. Everyone Adores You (at least I do)
4. You Deserve An Oscar
5. Lobster
6. Outrun the Bear
7. 1000 Tears Deep
8. We Need to Talk
9. Mystery
10. Oldest Trick in the Book (feat. Bedouine)
11. Looking
12. Rat Race
13. Krakow