New Zealand’s Opossom unleash video for “FLY”, debut album Electric Hawaii out Aug 7, check out the video “Fly”

New Zealand’s Opossom unleash video for “FLY” , debut album Electric Hawaii out Aug 7, check out the video “Fly” HERE

Fire Records share with you the fantastic video for “Fly,” the second track on the album from New Zealand’s Opossom.

This clip follows a group of scientists as they attempt to study a mysterious moving pyramid in the country. They move human looking robots around by remote control to get in closer to it. As they investigate they discover a UFO.

Sam Kristofski filmed this clip for ‘Fly’ in the South Island of New Zealand. He also made the previous Opossom clip for “Blue Meanies.”

Opossum is the brainchild of Kody Nielson, formerly of acclaimed “trouble gum art punks,” The Mint Chicks. Kody is also known for playing and touring with his former Mint Chicks comrade and real- life brother Ruben Nielson in his band Unknown Mortal Orchestra. Opossom have produced the album ‘Electric Hawaii’, which is due for release in August.

Home-written, recorded and mixed by Kody himself, it is not the singer-songwriter solo album of a former punk rock band singer. It’s a further exploration of today’s musical journey into a lively, engaging world of carefully crafted sonic layers of light and dark, incorporating some of his personal Polynesian background with his blend of beatnik psychedelica.

Their intense live performances have garnered rave reviews and the band made waves after their UK live debut in April. Joining Kody on stage are Bic Runga in the role of chanteuse and multi-instrumentalist and former fellow Mint Chick Michael Logie on bass guitar duties. There are plans are afoot for UK, European and US shows in the Autumn.

Track Listing:

1. Girl

2. Fly

3. Blue Meanies

4. Getaway Tonight

5. Watchful Eye

6. Why Why

7. Cola Elixir

8. Hawaii

9. Outer Space

10. Inhaler Song


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.