Muzz Debut Video For “Summer Love”

Muzz share video for "Summer Love"
Muzz "Summer Love"

Recently, Muzz released their debut self-titled release via Matador Records. The trio is comprised of Matt Barrick on drums, Josh Kaufman multi-instruments, and Paul Banks on vocals. Today, the band has shared a video for “Summer Love.” The track follows previous singles “Knuckleduster”, “Red Western Sky”, and “Broken Tambourine.” “Summer Love” sees muted organ and flute by Stuart Bogie (Arcade Fire) drift along as the song rides out on the main vibe and vocal line by Banks: “Iʼm in the race / Iʼm on the get-go / I wanna skate / I want the XO / Summer love / Summer love ends / Silence is sung we wonʼt remember”.

The video combines, says Banks, “footage Matt shot a few years ago of a deserted drive-through theatre, with clips we individually generated during lockdown and the majestically psychedelic collage work of the great Andrew McGranahan . It’s what we feel is a nice visual poem to accompany the song. Rather than a summer lockdown document, we aimed more to emulate the work of Truffaut, Fellini, or Cassavetes and to capture three stories of romance and solitude. Lofty aspirations, humble result; but we hope you enjoy it even a fraction as much as we did creating it.”

Matador Records

1. Bad Feeling
2. Evergreen
3. Red Western Sky
4. Patchouli
5. Everything Like It Used To Be
6. Broken Tambourine
7. Knuckleduster
8. Chubby Checker
9. How Many Days
10. Summer Love
11. All Is Dead To Me
12. Trinidad

Muzz recently released a third instalment in a series of live recordings, performing
‘Everything Like It Used To Be’. Watch HERE .


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.