Lil Silva Releases Video, ‘Mabel’ Out 8/5

Lil Silva Releases New Video, the 'Mabel' EP comes Out August 5th on True Panther / Good Years, the new EP features two new singles by UK singer Banks

Coming off his recent announcement of new EP Mabel, Lil Silva has today premiered the video for the title track and new single. Laura Coulson elaborates, “this video was a subtle homage to Silva’s grandmother Mabel, whom the song was about,” and arrives with the EP’s release August 5th on True Panther / Good Years.

You rep for the ends, now it’s time for the ends to let you go.” So begins the sample on “First Mark,” the epic opener onLil Silva’s new Mabel EP, out August 5th on True Panther in the US and August 4th on Good Years internationally.

Lil Silva, real name TJ Carter, has always been evolving as a DJ and producer. He came onto the nascent UK Underground scene with “Seasons” in 2008, which evolved into the machine funk of Night Skanker for Night Slugs in 2010. By 2012’s Patience EP on Good Years he started to discover a new tender future sound. Collaborating with Sampha, who he shares his endless new ideas and sketches, they produced “Salient Sarah.” It gave him a newfound boldness to move things on.

Now, still only 24 years old, he’s stepped up as songwriter and vocalist with the Mabel EP featuring two tracks with BANKS. His writing relationship with the Los Angeles-based pop star has only gotten stronger since she sent him the track that became last year’s “Work,” having shaped her sound from the start and as one of the main producers on her forthcoming debut record, Goddess.

The EP, recorded and finished between studios at his home in Bedford, London and Los Angeles, highlights ongoing transformations. His voice is warm and rich on a bruised slow jam duet about seeing a woman with the wrong man (“Right For You ft. BANKS”) and in the strong stick-in-your-brain-for-months melody of “Don’t You Love ft BANKS.”

 photo LilSilva_Mabel_CoverArt_small_zps9baacba1.jpeg


Mabel Tracklisting

(August 5th, 2014 | True Panther / Good Years)

01. First Mark

02. Kimmy

03. Don’t You Love (feat. BANKS)

04. Mabel

05. Right For You (feat. BANKS)


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.