Liars announce new album details

Liars announce details behind their forthcoming release 'TFCF'

LIARS have announced the details of their forthcoming release, TFCF (which stands for Theme From Crying Fountain). The LP comes out on August 25th. The band recently confirmed a new string of festival and autumn dates, starting August 5th in London, UK. Following an amicable parting of ways with Aaron Hemphill, Liars is now Angus Andrew, who decamped to his native Australia, specifically to a remote part of the Australian bush, to create an album unlike any Liars had attempted before. The band are sharing their lead single “Cred Wars”, which is now available to stream.

Angus Andrew explains, “Suddenly, the tides of the ocean became the most important thing to me, because I live right on the ocean now, and to get my boat out in the morning to get groceries on the mainland I’ve got to know when the tide is coming in, or I’ll get stuck. Very basic things like that suddenly became top priority in my life. And the effect was interesting. The last record, Mess, was made in LA, and had very tight corners and clean edges – it was sharp, programmed, organised. It sounds a lot like living in a city. But now, everything started to fall off-time.”

As he recorded the tracks for the new album, Angus kept a microphone running that he’d set up just outside of his studio, pointed out into the bush. “A lot of the sounds I was working on were samples, they lived inside my computer, but I still wanted to have a connection with everything around me,” he says. “So everything I was recording was in context of the world outside the studio… Sometimes I’d have my headphones on, just listening to the bush, and a bird would fly up and scream into the microphone. The truth is, even in New York or LA, I was still pretty isolated. Here, there are no other people around, but I feel much more connected to the environment around me than in a big city.”

TFCF was written and recorded by Liars (Angus Andrew). Butchy Fuego, who performed live with Liars following Julian Gross’ departure in 2014, plays drums on three tracks. TFCF was mixed by Gareth Jones and mastered by Christian Wright. The album comes out August 8th via Mute Records.


The Grand Delusional
Cliché Suite
Staring At Zero
No Help Pamphlet
Face To Face With My Face
Emblems Of Another Story
No Tree No Branch
Cred Woes
Coins In My Caged Fist
Ripe Ripe Rot
Crying Fountain

5 Aug – UK, London, VISIONS Festival
7 Aug – HR, Primosten, Super Uho Festival
10 Aug – LU, Luxembourg, Congres Annules
12 Aug – IT, Sardinia, Here I Stay Festival
16 Aug – NO, Bergen, Perfect Sounds Forever
18 Aug – UK, Stirling, Doune The Rabbit Hole Festival
19 Aug – UK, Brecon Beacons, Green Man Festival
24 Aug – DE, Berlin, Pop-Kultur Festival
13 Sept – US, MI, Detroit, El Club
15 Sept – US, IL, Chicago, Riot Fest
16 Sept – US, OH, Columbus, Ace of Cups
18 Sept – US, MA, Cambridge, The Sinclair
20 Sept – US, CT, Hamden, The Ballroom at The Outer Space
21 Sept – US, NY, Brooklyn, Warsaw
23 Sept – US, NC, Carrboro, Cat’s Cradle
24 Sept – US, NC, Asheville, Orange Peel
25 Sept – US, GA, Atlanta, Aisle 5
6 Oct – US, OR, Portland, Wonder Ballroom
7 Oct – US, WA, Seattle, The Crocodile
10 Oct – US, CA, San Francisco, Great American Music Hall
13-15 Oct – US, CA, Joshua Tree, Desert Daze
28 Oct – UK, Manchester, Victoria Warehouse, Transformer 2
30 Oct – UK, Bristol, Colston Hall*
1 Nov – UK, Glasgow, Art School*
4 Nov – DK, Copenhagen, Jazzhouse
9 Nov – NL, Utrecht, Le Guess Who?
10 Nov – BE, Brussels, Orangerie
11 Nov – BE, Kortrijk, Sonic City
13 Nov – FR, Paris, Le Maroquinerie*
14 Nov – CH, Zurich, Salzhaus*
15 Nov – CH, Fribourg, Fri-Son*
16 Nov – IT, Milan, Magnolia**
17 Nov – IT, Rome, Monk**
18 Nov – IT, Bologna, Locomotiv**
29 Nov – RO, Bucharest, Control*