Hope Sandoval and Mercury Rev collaborate

Mercury Rev teams up with Hope Sandoval (Mazzy Star), Phoebe Bridgers, Lucinda Williams, Vashti Bunyan, Rachel Goswell, for The Delta Sweete Revisited
Hope Sandoval (Mazzy Star)

Mercury Rev have shared a new track from ‘The Delta Sweete Revisited’ – their track-by-track resurrection of Bobbie Gentry’s 1968 long-overlooked masterwork, ‘The Delta Sweete.’ Hope Sandoval (Mazzy Star) provides vocals to Mercury Rev’s arrangements on “Big Boss Man,” the album’s sensual, protofeminist highlight.

Mercury Rev (feat. Hope Sandoval) – “Big Boss Man”

‘The Delta Sweet Revisited’ is out February 8th via Partisan Records/Bella Union. In addition to Sandoval, Mercury Revare backed on vocals by an unmatched roster of women across a broad range of genres – Norah Jones, Margo Price, Phoebe Bridgers, Lucinda Williams, Vashti Bunyan, Rachel Goswell (Slowdive), Lætitia Sadier (Stereolab), Kaela Sinclair (M83) + more.

Originally released at the height of Gentry’s Beatles-eclipsing superstardom following her #1 smash “Ode To Billie Joe,” ‘The Delta Sweete’ is an unrestrained statement of empowerment that dips into everything from swamp-rock, R&B-style horns, and orchestral arrangements. ‘The Delta Sweete Revisited’ is Mercury Rev’s committed and affectionate resurrection of an album that anticipated by three decades their own pivotal expedition through transcendental America, 1998’s ‘Deserter’s Songs.’ Not unlike ‘The Delta Sweete,’ that record merged jazz, folk, and rock with Disney soundtrack fantasia, and heralded Mercury Rev’s rebirth as purveyors of a unique brand of the popular American songbook.

Mercury Rev
The Delta Sweete Revisited
Track List

  1. Okolona River Bottom Band (feat. Norah Jones)
  2. Big Boss Man (feat. Hope Sandoval)
  3. Reunion (feat. Rachel Goswell)
  4. Parchman Farm (feat. Carice van Houten)
  5. Mornin’ Glory (feat. Laetitia Sadier)
  6. Sermon (feat. Margo Price)
  7. Tobacco Road (feat. Susanne Sundfør)
  8. Penduli Pendulum (feat. Vashti Bunyan w/ Kaela Sinclair)
  9. Jessye’ Lisabeth (feat. Phoebe Bridgers)
  10. Refractions (feat. Marissa Nadler)
  11. Courtyard (feat. Beth Orton)
  12. Ode To Billie Joe (feat. Lucinda Williams) *

*not included on the original ‘The Delta Sweete’