Geese Share New Single “I See Myself”

Geese have shared “I See Myself,” the new single is joined by a video from the Brooklyn band's forthcoming album 3D Country
Gese photo by Kyle Berger

Geese have shared “I See Myself,” the new single is joined by a video from the Brooklyn band’s forthcoming album 3D Country, available June 23rd via Partisan Records/Play It Again Sam. 3D Country is the follow up to the band’s 2021 debut Projector. The group toured the record with Jack White, Spoon and more.

“I See Myself” is the breezy, soulful, and strange track with a groove inspired by Funkadelic classics like “Nappy Dugout” and “Hit It and Quit It.” It finds the Brooklyn 5-piece at perhaps their most heartfelt, even bordering on a love song, despite a post-prog breakdown before the last chorus.

Geese frontman Cameron Winter explains: “‘I See Myself’ was one of the last songs we pulled together for the album. I was inspired by my favorite Funkadelic songs, which are dead simple and have big choruses with beautiful backing vocals, so this was our version of something like that. This might be Geese’s first proper love song. Seeing your humanity reflected back in someone else is one of the most pure kinds of connections that exist, to me. But I think there’s a lyrical darkness to the song too, about wanting to save someone you love from something evil and unstoppable.”

And during this entire process, that very same band everyone was getting to know ceased to exist. On a practical level, Geese are still the group we were introduced to in 2021: vocalist Cameron Winter, guitarist Gus Green, guitarist Foster Hudson, bassist Dom DiGesu, and drummer Max Bassin. But spiritually, Geese have returned as an entirely different prospect. ‘3D Country’ is the sound of a restless, adventurous band redefining themselves.

Co-produced by the band and James Ford (Arctic Monkeys, Depeche Mode, Shame), ‘3D Country’ is an explosion in both scope and vision for the group. With a heightened ambition fueling ‘3D Country,’ the band created a bugged-out, wild, unpredictable ride — an almost phantasmagoric reflection of contemporary life. Drummer Max Bassin sums up, “It feels like going to the circus and instead of having a good time, everyone is trying to kill you.”

3D Country
Partisan Records/Play It Again Sam

1. 2122
2. 3D Country
3. Cowboy Nudes
4. I See Myself
5. Undoer
6. Crusades
7. Gravity Blues
8. Mysterious Love
9. Domoto
10. Tomorrow’s Crusades
11. St Elmo

Pre-order 3D Country by Geese HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.