Ezra Collective Debut “No Confusion”

Ezra Collective Debuts New Single "No Confusion" featuring Kojey Radical. The UK band's track is available via streaming services
Ezra Collective Debuts New Single "No Confusion" featuring Kojey Radical. The UK band's track is available via streaming services

Ahead of the release of their forthcoming album Where I’m Meant To Be, which arrives this Friday, Ezra Collective have dropped a new single/video “No Confusion,” featuring Kojey Radical and an accompanying video directed by Douglas Bernhardt.

“No Confusion” is both a celebration of Nigerian style and culture, and tribute to one of the country’s musical heroes; the late, great drummer, Tony Allen. A pioneer of the Afrobeat sound and longtime musical director of Fela Kuti’s band, Allen was also an inspirational friend and mentor to Ezra Collective’s bandleader Femi Koleoso, who knew him as ‘Uncle Tony’. No Confusion opens with a conversation between Allen and his protégé.

“Drum lessons with Uncle Tony didn’t just change my life, but Ezra Collective’s”, explains Koleoso. “The most valuable thing he ever taught me was, always be yourself. Be who you are. Be proud of who you are. When you truly are who you’re meant to be, you have no confusion. Confusion by Fela Kuti is one of the only recorded drum solos by Uncle Tony – it’s so him, no one else could have played it. This track is so us. We’re at a place where we really know who we are as a band – and there’s No Confusion about it.”

The single follows earlier offerings Victory Dance, Life Goes On and Ego Killah, all of which feature on Ezra Collective’s second album, Where I’m Meant To Be, out Friday on Partisan Records. The record is a thumping celebration of life, an affirming elevation in the band’s hybrid sound – with a cover that references Thelonious Monk’s Underground, the songs marry cool confidence with bright energy. Where I’m Meant To Be features Sampa The Great, Kojey Radical, Emeli Sandé and Nao, plus spoken contributions from Tony Allen and Steve McQueen.

Ezra Collective play three back-to-back sold out shows at Ronnie Scott’s this Friday before hitting Leeds, Nottingham, Sheffield, Brighton and London next week for a series of instore and outstore performances. The band also previously announced a 2023 Europe and UK tour which culminates in an unmissable hometown finale at Brixton Academy.

Ezra Collective 2022-2023 Tour Dates

04 NOV 2022 / UK / London / Ronnie Scott’s Release Party (3 x shows)
06 NOV 2022 / UK / Leeds / Belgrave Music Hall (Outstore w/ Crash Records)
07 NOV 2022 / UK / Nottingham / Rough Trade (Instore)
08 NOV 2022 / UK / Sheffield / Foundry (Outstore w/ Bear Tree Records)
09 NOV 2022 / UK / Brighton / Resident Records (Instore)
10 NOV 2022 / UK / London / Rough Trade East (Instore)
18 FEB 2023 / UK / Bristol / O2 Academy
19 FEB 2023 / UK / Glasgow / SWG3
21 FEB 2023 / IE / Dublin / Opium Rooms
23 FEB 2023 / UK / Manchester / Albert Hall
24 Feb 2023 / UK / London / O2 Brixton Academy

Purchase “No Confusion” by Ezra Collective HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.