Ex Cops Release New Video For “Black Soap”

Ex Cops Release New Video For the single "Black Soap" from their new release 'Daggers', The full-length comes out on October 28th via Downtown Records

In anticipation of the October release of Daggers, Ex Cops have shared the first video from the album for “Black Soap,” which was shot on 16mm film throughout lower Manhattan and Williamsburg, Brooklyn. The hypnotic bursts of color and psychedelic style of the video were influenced by Andy Warhol and Stan Brakhage as well as ‘90s alt-rock aesthetics and fashion, and the clip was directed by Phillippe Grenade and Fortune Films.

“In a world where DSLR videos are a norm, it’s refreshing to return to the now archaic format of 16mm film, not only for its beautiful granular structure and ‘70s cult cinema aesthetic, but also because there is no magic in instant gratification. Lacking the ability to playback a take and then sending off a can of undeveloped film to the lab without an inkling of an idea if what you’ve shot is absolute gold or absolute shit or if a light leak ruined all your fantastic images is the most excitingly anticipatory feeling as a filmmaker.” – Phillipe Grenade

Ex Cops, a nomadic duo featuring Amalie Bruun and Brian Harding, The album was produced by Billy Corgan and  Justin Raisen (Sky Ferriera, Charli XCX, Kylie Minogue).

Formed in 2011, the group’s first album True Hallucinations, released in early 2013. From the exuberant “Spring Break (Birthday Song)” to the band’s dreamy debut “You Are A Lion, I Am A Lamb,” the John Siket-produced record (Blonde Redhead, Yo La Tengo) was a genre-jumping opening salvo and its wall-to-wall guitars set the tone for their new album.

In addition to sharing the band’s love of ABBA and taking them to their first wrestling match, provided form and texture to the new tracks over a two-week period in Chicago. The band then took the material to LA for tracking with Raisen and continued collaborating with artists like Ariel Pink, who co-wrote “Burnt Out Love” and features on “Tragically Alright.”

The result reinvents modern rock. “White Noise,” merges guitars that could make your teeth ache and a motorik electronic pop pulse. “Teenagers” brings club-ready downtown pop to an anthemic peak, while “Black Soap” shifts shoegaze textures to stadium status and “Rooms,” one of the album’s emotionally-true ballads.

 photo excops_art_zps3c47285e.jpeg


Daggers Tracklisting

(October 28th, 2014 | Downtown Records)


01. Black Soap

02. White Noise

03. Teenagers

04. Daggers

05. Pretty Shitty

06. Burnt Out Love

07. Modern World

08. Wanna Be (feat. L.P.)

09. Tragically Alright (feat. Ariel Pink)

10. Rooms

11. Weird With You



Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.