EVERYTHING EVERYTHING Share video for "Teletype." The track is off the band's forthcoming release Raw Data Feel, available My 20, 2022
EVERYTHING EVERYTHING Share video for "Teletype"

Everything Everything have shared “Teletype”, a new track and video taken from their forthcoming album Raw Data Feel, due for release on May 20, 2022 via on the band’s own imprint Infinity Industries / AWAL. Everything Everything will release a limited-edition lyric book CAPS LOCK ON: Lyrics + Debris 2007-2022, out 20 May through Faber Music. The band are also touring the UK and Ireland starting in March and with London’s Roundhouse on 13 April and will be supported by Do Nothing, Phoebe Green, Liz Lawrence and L’objectif.

Explaining the meaning behind “Teletype” and its visuals – which were created by frontman Jonathan Higgs – Everything Everything comment: “This song began in a very experimental way, with Alex and Jon sampling voice and guitar then putting it through a process that randomised each chord in a chaotic and glitchy rhythm. A very direct song, straight from the heart, with a fresh new openness that we felt was a good scene-setting for the record.”

“The video consists of human faces that were completely generated by AI, singing the song. It also includes several grotesque experiments that didn’t work, where the machine thought it was making a person but failed.”

On Raw Data Feel, Everything Everything set about revolutionising modern pop music, with Higgs abandoning his own brain and letting technology do at least some of the thinking: creating an A.I. programme and feeding it selected information – the entire terms and conditions of LinkedIn, the ancient epic poem Beowulf, 400,000 4Chan forum posts and the teachings of Confucius – into A.I. automation processes and using its responses as a basis for the record’s lyrics, song titles and artwork creation.

Produced by Everything Everything guitarist Alex Robertshaw and production partner Tom Fuller (aka Kaines and Tom A.D), Raw Data Feel follows 2020’s RE-ANIMATOR.

Printing a limited number of copies, CAPS LOCK ON: Lyrics + Debris 2007-2022 is a full-colour, hardback edition presenting the lyrics to all songs released by the band including b-sides, rarities and new album Raw Data Feel. It will present a treasure trove of previously unseen images featured alongside the lyrics, including behind-the-scenes archive material of notebooks, chord sheets, set lists and photos.

Raw Data Feel – that title, says drummer Mike Spearman, reflects an attempt to make it “straight from the heart, rather than the ego.” Having finished their fifth album RE-ANIMATOR in 2020, just as the pandemic closed in, there was an inescapable anti-climax when it became clear they couldn’t have the closeness and closure that comes with playing an album’s songs live. They needed, says bassist Jeremy Pritchard, something to push them on through that dispiriting lull; Raw Data Feel was the “fulcrum”, providing the drive to find new ways of working, new ways of being Everything Everything.

Since their 2010 debut Man Alive, Everything Everything have captured the human face reflected in the doom-scrolling screen, sensitive to both the internal chatter and external chaos. Raw Data Feel isn’t just about raging against the machine or the dying of the light,– it’s a record that consciously tries to take horror and trauma and reshape it into something positive. “It’s the sound of the record as well,” Higgs says, “a lot of technology meeting organic sounds. I think there is a certain type of interaction between Alex’s technology and the human that is using it which is quite unique. I’m really not ashamed to say I think it’s amazing.”

Even in dark times, Raw Data Feel is a record that uses its unfailing creative impulses and instincts to reactivate the idea of spontaneity, exploration – even pure untramelled fun. “The humans are getting information back, deciding what has feeling and what doesn’t,” says guitarist Alex Robert shaw.

Pre-order Raw Data Feel HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.