“Earthquake Weather” (RMX) by ARMS

"Earthquake Weather" (RMX) by ARMS

ARMS is the long-running pseudonymous music project of Todd Goldstein. Todd spent his mid-20s playing guitar in New York’s much-loved Harlem Shakes, and spent the ensuing years releasing a string of singles and EPs, a covers album, and crafting two albums (2008’s Kids Aflame and 2011’s Summer Skills).

“Earthquake Weather” appears on 2013’s EP2, ARMS’ first release with Brooklyn’s Paper Garden Records. The product of a long, slow collaboration with drummer Tlacael Esparza (Friend Roulette, Nicolas Jaar’s live band), EP2 contains five hopeful, home-recorded pop songs that project a lived-in looseness without sacrificing an ounce of tension. EP2 is the sound of a kid with a worried mind—a frequent character in Todd’s musical universe—learning to let go at last.

Today, a remix created by NYC based artists Dave Harrington (DARKSIDE) and Sergio (Benoit & Sergio) of EP2 track “Earthquake Weather” has premiered at Earmilk. In addition, ARMS has announced a brand new album, Patterns, which will be released in spring 2016 via Paper Garden Records.

Harrington and ARMS (Todd Goldstein and Tlacael Esparaza) will be a part of an annual Christmas spectacular, featuring members of The Antlers, A Place to Bury Strangers, Yeasayer and more, December 13th at NYC’s Le Poisson Rouge.


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.