“A Late Night Special” By Puma Blue

25-year-old South London musician Puma Blue, recently released concert film, “A Late Night Special.” Three months on, Puma Blue has compiled highlights of the show within the new six-track EP A Late Night Special, which is out now via Blue Flowers. He also gives fans the opportunity to revisit the full show, with the entire 14-song performance now available to watch.

The prospect of the show presented a challenge for Puma Blue. As well as contending with lockdown restrictions, Puma Blue also needed to ensure that these largely home-recorded songs translated in a live setting. But that’s exactly what he achieved with an expanded eight-piece performing live band at the historic Battersea Arts Centre. From new songs, “Velvet Leaves”,”Opiate” and “Oil Slick” to the early fan favorites “Only Trying 2 Tell U” and “(She’s) Just A Phase”, Puma Blue infused his intimate song craft with emotive lead vocals, warm live instrumentation and soothing gospel harmonies.

Puma Blue, real name Jacob Allen, says, “It was difficult to imagine how to represent ‘In Praise of Shadows’ as a live experience without the option to tour, but the opportunity to record something special at Battersea Arts Centre seemed really fitting. It’s a venue that was devastated by a fire in 2015 and subsequently restored by a team who consciously left the damaged original structure on show. It felt like a really powerful space for the music to exist in. I was just drawn back to the idea of coming to a place of acceptance with the darker things in your past and recognising them as an important part of your present self.”

While the EP features five songs from “In Praise of Shadows” plus “Only Trying 2 Tell U”, the video features nine songs from the album as well as previous cult classics such as “(She’s) Just A Phase” and “Moon Undah Water”. Its after hours ambience was heightened by visuals and set design courtesy of CHILD studio (Robyn, The xx).

CHILD studio creative duo Tayo Rapoport and Josh Renaut added, “We wanted to create a viewing experience that could intersect the grandeur and excitement of a live show, and the intimacy and vulnerability of a rehearsal room … inviting viewers into a unique setting with the band performing in a round, an increased sense of closeness with fabrics circling the performance space, and a visual journey throughout the film where energy and mood could shift through changes in light.”

The release of A Late Night Special provides a timely reminder of Puma Blue’s ability as a captivating performer as he today announces details of his first public live show in almost two years. He will play a special intimate show at London’s Omeara on Saturday, August 28th – his first in the capital since headlining EartH in October 2019.

Blue Flowers
A Late Night Special
track listing
Blue Flowers

1. Sweet Dreams
2. Cherish (furs)
3. Already Falling
4. Oil Slick
5. Silk Print
6. Only Trying 2 Tell U

Order or stream A Late Night Special EP by Puma Blue HERE