Stone Jack Jones Debuts New “O Brother”

Stone Jack Jones has debuted his new single "O Brother"
Stone Jack Jones "O Brother"

Nashville-based alt-folk artist Stone Jack Jones has released his new single “O Brother,” a track off his forthcoming album Black Snake.

The veteran singer-songwriter teamed up with producer Roger Moutenot, known for his work with Yo La Tengo, Sleater-Kinney and Bob Dylan for this release. “O Brother” is a perfect display of the duo’s symbiotic relationship held together by a ritual that they practiced during each Black Snake recording session – each musician would gather in Moutenot’s backyard, where they’d establish a groove and vibe for the track, and build on it. In “O Brother” specifically, Jack gave the individual musicians featured on the track freedom of improvisation based on the bare bones of the track and groove established. Jones’s signature vocal timbre lies on top of the building instrumentation – the result is eerie and lush, while still having that solid skeletal beat to keep you reeling. This will be on repeat into the Fall as the weather gets cooler and darker.

Stone Jack Jones’s Black Snake LP is out September 13th via yk Records. The album features collaborations from a host of Nashville musicians: Kyle Hamlett (lylas), Rodrigo Avendano (Coupler, Sun Seeker, Soccer Mommy), Patrick Damphier, Luke Schneider (Margo Price, William Tyler), Katie Banyay (Idle Bloom), Stewart Bronaugh (Lionlimb), Gyasi, Scott Martin and Madeleine Besson.

Stone Jack Jones will be performing a hometown release show at Nashville’s Drkmttr on September 14th. Black Snake LP is out September 13th via yk Records.

Stone Jack Jones
Black Snake
yk Records

01. I’m Gone
02. Heyell
03. O Brother
04. Mary Mary
05. Story
06. Crying Shame
07. #BeautifulDay
08. I Can See


Sorry, we couldn't find any posts. Please try a different search.