Zola Jesus Shares New Song “Avalanche (Slow)”

Zola Jesus releases new song and video "Avalanche (slow)" out August 20 on Sacred Bones

On August 20, Sacred Bones Records will release Versions – an album of nine  Zola Jesus songs and one new track arranged for string quartet by JG Thirlwell.

On the heels of her Conatus world tour, Nika Roza Danilova was offered an opportunity to perform at one of the most prestigious modern art museums in the world, NY’s Guggenheim. Rather than doing her standard Zola Jesus electronic set she decided she wanted to work with a classical composer who could arrange her songs for a quartet. She recruited legendary pioneer JG Thirlwell (Foetus) to do the arrangements.

Since his in the early 80’s New York no-wave scene, JG has been scoring and composing symphonic arrangements for his own project Manorexia, in addition to currently scoring Adult Swim’s Venture Brothers series. Thirlwell’s oeuvre runs the gamut from orchestrations, big band, and cathartic noise-rock to abstract electronics, sound sculpture, and chamber music, thus making him the perfect collaborator to help realize Danilova’s vision.

“’Versions’ is about the bone of the music; taking approximations from past records and turning them inside out. With all framework exposed, the songs are given a new medium in which to evolve and bloom into their own tiny worlds.”

Look for select Zola Jesus dates this fall with JG and quartet including a stop at Asheville’s Mountain Oasis Festival.

Versions Track List:

01. Avalanche (Slow)

02. Fall Back

03. Hikikomori

04. Run Me Out

05. Seekir

06. Sea Talk

07. Night

08. In Your Nature

09. Collapse

10. Vessel [CD Bonus]

11. Avalanche [Digital Bonus]


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.