Young Turks Announce ‘YT2014’ Compilation


YOUNG TURKS, today, announce the release of YT2014, a compilation that celebrates the London based independent label’s year of releases. The 5 artist, 5 track CD and download formats feature the best known tracks by the five artists who have released music on Young Turks in 2014 – Jamie xx, FKA twigs, Sampha, SBTRKT and Quirke. The limited edition LP will also carry an additional selection of rare or unreleased music from all five artists.

2014 began with the release of Sampha’s ‘Too Much / Happens’ 7”. Sampha has been working on new solo material this year, while also working with long time collaborator SBTRKT. SBTRKT himself, released his second album ‘Wonder Where We Land’ in September and is currently taking his live show around the world.

Recent Young Turks signing ‘Quirke’ released his ‘Acid Beth EP’ in May. The EP is an insight into the world of Josh Quirke, a London based producer making music that could only exist in the current generation of genre confused electronica.

2014 also marked the return of Jamie xx. The producer released two limited edition singles ‘All Under One Roof Raving’ and the AA-side ‘Girl / Sleepsound’. As well as working on new music with both The xx and his own solo album, Jamie spent much of 2014 playing shows around the world.

FKA Twigs,the much talked about singer, producer and director is currently in the middle of her largest tour to date, playing shows across the UK, Europe and North America. Since it’s release in August, her debut album ‘LP1’ was one of twelve albums to make the shortlist of the 2014 Barclaycard Mercury Music Prize. 

CD Format Track listing
1. Sampha – Too Much
3. Quirke – Break A Mirrored Leg
4. Jamie xx – Girl
5. FKA twigs – Two Weeks

LP Format B-side Track listing
1. Sampha – Answer (unreleased instrumental)
2. SBTRKT – Tamagochi (Deluxe LP bonus track)
3. Quirke – Acid Beth (Lizzie Mix) (exclusive new remix)
4. Jamie xx – Sleep Sound
5. FKA twigs – One Time (deluxe LP bonus 7” track)

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.