“Yolf” by The Birth Defects

"Yolf" by The Birth Defects is Northern Transmissions' 'Song of the Day'.
Birth Defects

LA band The Birth Defects are announcing their new Ty Segall-produced LP, Everything Is Fine, out January 26 on Ghost Ramp. It’s the follow up to their 2015 debut record, First 8 Mistakes. Lead single “YOLF” is a 1 minute and 31 second ripper of a track.

The Birth Defects’ live shows are described as “an all out assault on pop sensibility and widely accessible music with their bastard child of punk, thrash, noise and every genre of heavy music that services the outcasts and the misunderstood of society”. They have been busy the last few years touring with The Coathangers, Ty Segall, White Fang, No Parents, Meatbodies, and many more.

Lead singer and guitarist Jason Finazzo teaches a crash course on transforming suffering into a good time. He’s the poster child for emotional paralysis and making good on the promise to get out of the house for a little bit today. Brothers in a battery of unrelenting sonic and rhythmic assault are bassist Philip Nielsen, drummer Anthony Drinkwater and, newest edition, guitarist Tim Dawson. Their riffs are rough and raw and make no requisite age for rage, yet remain oddly unpretentious about how hardcore they are. This sophomore effort is nothing short of a validation for the misfits of planet earth — everyone is welcome to the other side of the tracks where The Birth Defects live to laugh at you and cry at their own misfortune.

The Birth Defects
Everything Is Fine
Ghost Ramp

1. Endless Pain
3. I Should Be Dead
4. Dyelisium
5. Hekter
6. Fucking Love
7. Lost Control
8. Sunday Morning Mantra