Yak announce new LP on Third Man

London, England's Yak, have announced their new album 'Pursuit of Momentary Happiness'
Yak 'Pursuit of Momentary Happiness'

Yak have announced their new LP Pursuit of Momentary Happiness, will be released on February 8th, 2via Third Man Records / Virgin EMI. Along with the news, The London trio has shared the new single “Fried. Yak have also announced a new set of UK tour dates starting in March.

The creation of Pursuit of Momentary Happiness saw frontman Oli Burslem stand on the precipice between obsession and self-destruction. He sacrificed everything for his artistic vision, including his own financial security and mental health. Who invests every last penny into recording, to the point where they become homeless?

Oli Burslem on Pursuit of Momentary Happiness

“I don’t want it to be a boo-hoo story,” says Burslem. “It was fun doing it. It’s nice to push yourself to the limit, and I can say now that I don’t give a shit what anyone thinks, because it’s a document of that time, and it’s honest and open, and I couldn’t have done or given much more.”

Yak’s album Alas Salvation, gave the band hope, so much so, Burslem and drummer Elliot Rawson were eager to make a second record, but bassist Andy Jones departed for a new life in Australia. A chance meeting with Jay Watson from Tame Impala’s touring band resulted in Burslem hatching a plan to rehearse together in Melbourne before quickly recording the album at Tame mainman Kevin Parker’s studio in Perth — with Burslem stopping in Tokyo to focus on writing.

It didn’t work out. Burslem returned to the UK with no home, no money and no album. 18 hazy months passed, during which Yak found their new bassist Vinny Davies and then a fresh focus. Yak were introduced to Spiritualized chief Jason Pierce through his bandmate John Coxon, and Pierce encouraged them that they still had something worth pursuing. That resulted in new deals with Third Man Records and Virgin EMI, and Burslem committed to sorting out his personal situation… just as soon as he’d finished the album.

They headed to RAK Studios with producer Marta Salogni (Björk, Django Django) and spent 10 hectic days recording 29 songs, 11 of which feature on the album. Burslem then withdrew to a small home studio with Pierce to apply some finishing touches. Against all advice, his dedication resulted in one final trip, this time to New York to completely remix the album

Pursuit of Momentary Happiness
Track list

1. Bellyache
2. Fried
3. Pursuit Of Momentary Happiness
4. Words Fail Me
5. Blinded By The Lights
6. Interlude
7. White Male Carnivore
8. Pay Off VS. The Struggle
9. Encore
10. Layin’ It On The Line
11. This House Has No Living Room (Featuring J.Spaceman)

tour dates

29th – Birmingham, Castle & Falcon
30th – Norwich, Arts Centre

1st – Cardiff, Clwb Ifor Bach
2nd – Oxford, O2 Academy 2
3rd – London, The Dome
5th – Leeds, Brudenell Social CLub
6th – Nottingham, Bodega Social Club
8th – Liverpool, Arts Club
9th – Manchester, YES
11th – Newcastle, The Cluny
12th – Glasgow, King Tut’s Wah Wah Hut
13th – Dublin, Whelan’s