XL Recordings announce “Pay Close Attention”

XL Recordings announce "Pay Close Attention," label history-spanning compilation out August 25 via XL Recordings, artists include The XX, M.I.A, The Horrors

XL Recordings will release Pay Close Attention, a label history-spanning compilation album, on August 25, 2014. The album documents and celebrates the key releases and moments from the 25 year history of the London-based, independent record label.

In the Pay Close Attention sleeve notes, XL owner Richard Russell writes:

“XL Recordings is a collaborative endeavour, and many people have contributed to its evolution. In the song ‘Out Of Space’, Liam Howlett of The Prodigy provided a blueprint when he sampled Kool Keith of Ultramagnetic MC’s rapping these words: “Pay Close Attention”. And whilst XL has never had any outside ownership, Gil Scott-Heron advised me not to even consider XL an “independent”, because everything is connected. 

Part 1 of this compilation are the roots of XL; underground music, made for DJs. These roots are still growing. Part 2 features some of the singular talents who have taken the label further than we ever envisioned. There is no unifying genre; hopefully the thread of originality is evident though. 

The rave music XL first became known for was known as “hardcore”; that spirit continues.

To show our appreciation for your support, thank you DJs.

And thank you also to the retailers, writers, and, of course, ravers. “ 

Richard Russell, London, 2014

From today, Pay Close Attention also exists in website format at http://pay-close-attention.com. The newly-launched site is comprised of a series of immersive and interconnected timelines that allow you to explore the work of artists who appear on Pay Close Attention. It also features a wealth of new and unseen content, including new interviews and performance footage from Vampire Weekend, The White Stripes, Tyler, the Creator, The Prodigy and Bobby Womack. In addition, the Pay Close Attention site includes a bespoke music and video player that allows you to build playlists to enjoy as you navigate the site.

Pay Close Attention track list:

Disc 1

1. SL2 – DJs Take Control

2. The Prodigy – Out Of Space

3. Awesome 3 – Don’t Go (Kicks Like A Mule Mix)

4. Liquid – Sweet Harmony

5. Jonny L – Piper

6. Roy Davis Jr. featuring Peven Everett – Gabriel (Live Garage Version)

7. Dem 2 – Destiny

8. Nu-Birth – Anytime

9. Basement Jaxx – Jump N’Shout

10. Dizzee Rascal – I Luv U

11. Wiley – Igloo

12. Various Production – Hater

13. Giggs – Talkin The Hardest

14. SBTRKT – Wildfire (featuring Little Dragon)

15. Jamie xx – All Under One Roof Raving


Disc 2

1. The Prodigy – Firestarter

2. Peaches – Fuck The Pain Away

3. The White Stripes – Seven Nation Army

4. Devendra Banhart – I Feel Just Like A Child

5. Ratatat – Seventeen Years

6. M.I.A. – Paper Planes

7. Thom Yorke – The Eraser

8. Gil Scott-Heron – New York Is Killing Me

9. Radiohead – Weird Fishes / Arpeggi

10. Tyler, The Creator – Yonkers

11. The Horrors – Sea Within A Sea

12. Jai Paul – BTSTU (demo)

13. Bobby Womack – Please Forgive My Heart

14. The xx – Angels

15. Sampha – Too Much

16. Vampire Weekend – Step

17. King Krule – Easy Easy

18. Adele – Rolling In The Deep

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.