“Will I be A Figure Eight” by Doprah

Doprah’s recent debut full-length Wasting was Recorded over a period of three years following 2011’s Christchurch earthquake, the album’s atmosphere is dark, undulating and electric. Sounds throb, crack, glisten and weave across a genre-melting sonic landscape.

Since then, Doprah have released a number of cinematic music videos, have gigged across their homeland, and dipped their toes in Australian waters and journeyed to the other side of the world to play New York’s CMJ Festival.

The new record sees the now six-piece band’s ethereal, trip-pop sound reach a new level of fidelity and cohesion, with credit due to the band’s principal producer Steven Marr. Liquid synthesizers and cavernous programmed beats are fused with traditional live instruments to create their own sound. Floating among the instrumentation is Indira Force – a musician able to transmit emotion like few vocalists can, sometimes forgoing lyrics altogether in the Björk/Elizabeth Fraser vein of vocal envelope-pushing. Finishing tweaks were applied by mastering engineer Jamal Ruhe (Swans, Built to Spill).

Wasting is available digitally and on vinyl February 19th 2016 worldwide. Tour dates to be announced soon.


01. Will I Be A Figure Eight
02. Subaeruginosa
03. Borderline
04. Machinery
05. San Pedro
06. Wormhole
07. Wool
08. Lucid Visions
09. Stranger People
10. Omni
11. Black Lodge


Sorry, we couldn't find any posts. Please try a different search.