White Ash Falls Releases By The River Bend

White Ash Falls’ debut album, By The River Bend, arrives in stores today via Light Organ Records. The new project from Yukon Blonde bassist Andy Bishop brings him closer to the style of music that lies in his heart – “I’ve played in punk bands. I’ve done just about everything, but I’ve always had a thing for folk music. With other types of music, I feel like I’m writing for that genre. Whereas for White Ash Falls, I’m writing for myself, and this is what comes out.”

While White Ash Falls began as a solo project, it quickly grew to a group of collaborators, fleshing out the sound. Bishop got everyone together at Hive Creative Labs in Vancouver and recorded largely live off the floor, capturing the raw, spontaneous sessions that occurred. You can hear the energy and excitement in the room as the ensemble tears into the sun-drenched “I Can’t Get Tomorrow” and the dark and stormy closer “Rain Came.” Elsewhere, the moody “Your Song” is fleshed out with spectral harmonies and fluttering castanets, while “Whatever You Want” builds from a soulful a cappella lament to a barn-burning alt-country gallop.

White Ash Falls will join label mates Fine Times and We Need Surgery at this year’s Olio Festival in Vancouver, September 21 at The Cobalt before celebrating with his own performance, September 27 at The Biltmore.

09/21 – Vancouver, BC @ The Cobalt/Light Organ Records showcase @ Olio Festival
09/27 – Vancouver, BC @ The Biltmore (Record Release Show)

Track Listing:
1. Hong Kong Blues
2. Your Song
3. I Can’t Get Tomorrow
4. Don’t Let It Go Down
5. Katie Cruel
6. Whatever You Want
7. Winter’s Darkness
8. White Ash Falls
9. The Rain Came

Artist websites:


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.