Westerman Debuts “A Lens Turning”

Westerman debuts new video for "A Lens Turning." The track is off the UK artist's album An Inbuilt Fault, available May 5th via Partisan
Westerman Debuts video for "A Lens Turning"

Westerman shares his final single “A Lens Turning” off his forthcoming album An Inbuilt Fault, dropping May 5th via Partisan and Play It Again Sam. Additionally, Westerman has announced a UK tour starting in October 2023.

The track is paired with a music video directed and animated by Edwin Burdis, the visuals perfectly capture the song with a seemingly metaphysical character morphing to each musical shift. Through the use of color and movement, the video mirrors the song’s ups and downs while maintaining an eerie atmosphere that reflects its ominous themes of self doubt. The new track follows previously released singles “Take,” “CSI: Petralona” and “Idol; RE-run.”

While first working solo through a period of isolation in Italy in 2020 and 2021, a chance meeting with Big Thief’s James Krivchenia at a show in London changed this. Westerman decided to take a leap of faith and collaborate with the drummer and an extended crew of Los Angeles associates to flesh out his new songs. The Italy demos became jumpoff points for jams which, in imaginatively edited forms, pushed the songs into new affective realms; sometimes, the mood became more sinister, sometimes more triumphant. Throughout the album, Westerman abstracts his specific points of inspiration into invented scenes featuring multiple characters (sometimes distinguished with vocal effects or alternate vocal ranges) and allows his most broad-strokes universal sentiments to dominate the foreground. The result is Westerman’s own mini-epic about being in crisis, stitched together from torn song fragments and spontaneous moments of musical exorcism, which combine to tell a story that takes clearer shape with repeated listens.

The album artwork is by the renowned New York via Portugal graphic designer and illustrator Bráulio Amado, who Westerman has had a long standing relationship with. Bráulio Amado and Westerman worked together for the artwork on Westerman’s previous debut album as well.

In 2020, Westerman released his debut album ‘Your Hero Is Not Dead,’ a graceful and self-reflective project described as “excellent” by Pitchfork, that continued the artist’s journey from pop maverick to one of the most vital voices coming out of the UK. ‘Your Hero Is Not Dead’ features the stand-out songs, “The Line”, “Your Hero Is Not Dead,” “Waiting on Design,” “Think I’ll Stay” and “Blue Comanche.”

An Inbuilt Fault

1. Give
2. Idol; RE-run
3. I, Catullus
4. CSI Petralona
5. Help Didn’t Help At All
6. A Lens Turning
7. Take
8. An Inbuilt Fault
9. Pilot Was A Dancer


14 OCT 2023 / UK / Glasgow / Broadcast
15 OCT 2023 / UK / Edinburgh / Mash House
17 OCT 2023 / UK / Leeds / Brudenell Social Club
18 OCT 2023 / UK / Manchester / Canvas
21 OCT 2023 / UK / Nottingham / Bodega
22 OCT 2023 / UK / Cardiff / SWN Festival
23 OCT 2023 / UK / Bristol / Exchange
25 OCT 2023 / UK / Brighton / Komedia
26 OCT 2023 / UK / London / Hackney Church

Pre-order An Inbuilt Fault by Westerman HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.