Wedding Dress Share Single, LP out 11/18

Wedding Dress (Maps & Atlases/Joan of Arc) Drop 1st Single,

Formed in Chicago, originally as a creative side project for Maps & Atlases guitarist Erin Elders, Wedding Dress has grown to include Mike Russell & Matt Lemke (Suns), Bobby Burg (Love of Everything/Joan of Arc) and Christian Dawson (Gypsyblood). The eclectic line-up lends itself to the distinct complexity of Wedding Dress’ debut full-length Desperate Glow released November 18 on Lovitt Records. Staying true to the group’s blend of dream pop, Erin Elders’ vocals are ghostly at times, delivering narratives with memorable and haunting choruses. Elders himself describes the songs on the album as having a unique sense of space: “almost confusing and dream-like.”

Album opener “Heirlooms,” is an introspective love song lead by thundering percussion and strung together with a catchy chorus. Elders’ haunting falsetto vocals come to the forefront on “Frail Flakes” over a vintage beat, melodic synths and esoteric sounds. “Somewhere Darker,” highlights the band’s blend of acoustic and electric sounds and is a fitting closer.

The band will wrap up a national US tour with a hometown show in Chicago on October 15 and has collectively performed alongside Broken Bells, Sebadoh, Frightened Rabbit and Death Cab For Cutie.


Desperate Glow Track Listing:
1. Heirlooms
2. Holy Water
3. Soldiers Jawline
4. Frail Flakes
5. The Warp And The Weft
6. New Mountain Sun
7. Offerings
8. Bejeweled
9. Morbid Men
10. Somewhere Darker

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.