Weaves Announce Debut EP, Out On April 1ST

Weaves announce debut self-titles EP out April 1st on Buzz records. Weaves first single "Buttercup" is now streaming. Weaves will play this year at SXSW.

Weaves will release their self-titled debut EP, via Buzz Records. Lead single Buttercup begins with a maze of mandolins plucking their way into your brain with Jasmyn Burke’s voice sounding like it’s being played back by a gramophone. The song grows in dementia from there as they kick up the playful bombast. Along with album track CloserButtercup was produced by David Newfeld (Broken Social Scene, Los Campensinos!).

Weaves is a guerrilla project, intentionally forcing each member to create outside of the tiresome redundancy of a four-piece band. Reluctant to hide behind a wall of reverb or instantly affiliate with a scene, they are focused on mirroring pop sensibilities while evoking a visual and vulgarized experience.

Jasmyn Burke and Morgan Waters were sick of making music. Burke had just moved on from her long-time project RatTail but didn’t know if she should continue, or how. Waters had seen his fair share of the poppier side of the Canadian music industry but was disillusioned and longing for more grit. The two were reinvigorated after a chance meeting and the exchange of some preliminary cellphone demos. The tension between Burke’s affinity for topsy-turvy tunes and Waters’ ear for buoyant pop hooks meant that their resulting songs could totally revel in fun, arty, noisy weirdness yet still maintain a level of accessibility. Rhythm section Spencer Cole and Zach Bines have since joined to help fill out Weaves’ freaky, three-dimensional songs in the studio as well as onstage.

Weaves EP Tracklisting:

  1. Buttercup
  2. Motorcycle
  3. Take A Dip
  4. Do You See Past
  5. Closer
  6. Hulahoop

Upcoming Tour Dates:

March 11-16 – Austin, TX – SXSW



Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.