“We Belong” By Sinkane ft: Stout

"We Belong' by Sinkane is Northern Transmissions Song of the Day. The title-track is off the artist's forthcoming release, available 4/5
"We Belong' by Sinkane is Northern Transmissions Song of the Day

Sinkane (aka Sudanese-American musician Ahmed Gallab) releases the title track of his forthcoming album We Belong ft. STOUT. Also out today is the accompanying visualizer. The 10-track project is out April 5 via City Slang. “We Belong” leans heavily into 70s-funk with a modern take. Highlighting an overwhelming sense of togetherness.

On the track, Sinkane shares “This one is about the never-ending quest for finding community and refuge in our greatest resource: each other. A fuzzy, funky gospel ode to the infinity loop that we call ‘hard times.’ I wrote the lyrics after reading Alexander Pope’s poem ‘An Essay on Criticism.’ Specifically after reading the line, ‘To err is human, to forgive divine.’ How beautiful is that? ‘Errare Humane Est.’ We are all flawed and that is ok. Just don’t be a dick about it, ok? STOUT really flexes on this one. Lord have mercy! That woman can sing. She takes no prisoners.”

We Belong tells introspective–and sometimes painful–stories of the Black diaspora with an underlying current of love and hope for the future. Sinkane most recently released “How Sweet Is Your Love,” a celebratory, funk-infused high point of the project which received acclaim from numerous bloggers. The debut single off the project, “Everything is Everything,” featuring vocalist Tru Osborne, is an acute reflection of life as a Black person in America.

Sinkane assembled the who’s who of musicians and collaborators which include Beastie Boys producer Money Mark, jazz fusion maestro Casey Benjamin, guitarist/producer Mikey Freedom Hart, Phony Ppl’s Aja Grant, percussionist Meia Noite, organist Shedrick Mitchell, former bandmate Amanda Khiri and singers Bilal, STOUT, Tru Osborne and Hollie Cook. He has also created an all-star band called The Message, who support Sinkane live. Band members include: Ronnie Lanzilotta (bass), Dave Palazola (drums), Patt Carr (keys, guitar), Ifedayo (vocalist) and Jessica Harp (vocalist).

Pre-order We Belong by Sinkane HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.