Watkins Family Hour “Brokedown Palace”

Watkins Family Hour's "Brokedown Palace," from their debut self-titled album, out July 24th

Watkins Family Hour’s rendition of “Brokedown Palace,” is now available for streaming. The song is from the band’s debut, self-titled album, which will be released July 24 on Family Hour Records via Thirty Tigers. The collective features siblings Sara and Sean Watkins along with Fiona Apple, Benmont Tench, Don Heffington, Greg Leisz and Sebastian Steinberg.

To celebrate the release, Watkins Family Hour will soon hit cities across the U.S. kicking off with a performance at the Newport Folk Festival on July 24 and including an official Los Angeles release show at the Largo on August 13. The tour also includes dates in New York City, Nashville, TN, Chicago, IL, Berkley, CA, Seattle, WA, Alexandria, VA, and Asheville, NC.

Watkins Family Hour, recorded live over three days in the studio of their friend and producer-engineer Sheldon Gomberg. An all-covers affair, the album additionally includes Sara leading vocals on the Grateful Dead’s “Brokedown Palace” and Apple singing “Where I Ought To Be,” originally performed by Skeeter Davis.

Of the album and tour, Sara comments, “Taking the Watkins Family Hour on tour and releasing this record feels like the right next step. The show is about a community of players and that community stretches across the country. If we can’t get everyone to L.A. to do our show, we’ll come to them. We are coming to towns where we have friends and we can have those moments, even if it’s not our home club. It’s the people on stage who make that happen; it’s just a matter of getting the right group of people together. We are being thoughtful about where we are going so we can have that sort of flexibility. It will be a very different show in every town.”


1. Feelin’ Good Again (written by Robert Earl Keen, lead vocals by Sara Watkins)
2. Where I Ought To Be (written by Harlan Howard, lead vocals by Fiona Apple and Sara Watkins)
3. Not In Nottingham (written by Roger Miller, lead vocals by Sean Watkins)
4. Steal Your Heart Away (written by Lindsey Buckingham, lead vocals by Sara Watkins)
5. Prescription for the Blues (written by Saunders Montgomery, lead vocals by Benmont Tench)
6. Going Going Gone (written by Bob Dylan, lead vocals by Sean Watkins)
7. Hop High (traditional, arranged by Watkins Family Hour, lead vocals by Sara Watkins)
8. She Thinks I Still Care (written by Dickey Lee Lipscomb, lead vocals by Sebastian Steinberg)
9. The King of the 12 Oz. Bottles (written by Lee Ving, lead vocals by Don Heffington)
10. Early Morning Rain (written by Gordon Lightfoot, lead vocals by Sara Watkins)
11. Brokedown Palace (written by Robert C. Hunter and Jerry Garcia, lead vocals by Sara Watkins)


July 16 /// Los Angeles, CA /// Largo at the Coronet
July 23 /// Newport, RI /// Jane Pickens Theater
July 24 /// Newport, RI /// Newport Folk Festival
July 28, 29 & 30 /// New York, NY /// City Winery
August 1 & 2 /// Nashville, TN /// City Winery
August 4, 5 & 6 /// Chicago, IL /// Old Town School of Folk
August 8 /// New York, NY /// Lincoln Center Out of Doors
August 13 /// Los Angeles, CA /// Largo at the Coronet
August 14 & 15 /// Berkeley, CA /// Freight & Salvage
August 16 /// Redding, CA /// Cascade Theatre
August 19 /// Jacksonville, OR /// Britt Pavilion
August 21 /// Portland, OR /// Aladdin Theater
August 22 & 23 /// Seattle, WA /// Tractor Tavern
August 28 /// Boulder, CO /// Boulder Theater
August 30 /// Fayetteville, AR /// Fayetteville Roots Festival
September 8 & 9 /// Alexandria, VA /// The Birchmere
September 10 /// Carrboro, NC /// Cat’s Cradle
September 11 & 12 /// Asheville, NC /// The Grey Eagle
September 13 /// Atlanta, GA /// Terminal West
September 15 /// Athens, GA /// Georgia Theatre

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.