Watch Kiwi Jr. Play Ping-Pong In New Video

Kiwi Jr. shares New Video for “The Extra Sees The Film.” The track is off the Sub Pop recording artist's forthcoming release Chopper
Kiwi Jr. photo by Ben Rayner

Kiwi Jr. has shared a new lyric video for “The Extra Sees The Film,” a track off the band’s full-length Chopper, the group’s forthcoming album, available August 12 via Sub Pop Records. The album was recorded and produced in Toronto by Sub Pop labelmate Dan Boeckner (Wolf Parade, Handsome Furs, Operators).

Jeremy Gaudet says of the new single, “This song is quite literally a change of pace for us. It’s more chill and a bit darker than previous Kiwi Jr. recordings. It’s a song about whether or not you’re the hero of your own story, or a smaller part of something bigger. It’s bragging that you’re in a movie and inviting all your friends and family, but when it screens, you’re barely an extra in it. A lot of our songs deal with reckoning, this one in particular. It’s what happens after you’ve told your story and the truth comes out later, and everything unravels.”

Kiwi Jr. resumes touring in support of Chopper this Friday, July 22nd, with a show in Montreal at Bar Le Ritz PDB. The live dates currently run through Sunday, September 25th in Amsterdam, Netherlands at Paradiso. Sub Pop labelmates Weird Nightmare will also co-headline Kiwi Jr.’s North American shows (through Sunday, July 31st, select dates). Additional live dates to be announced soon.

Kiwi Jr.
Chopper
Tracklisting

1. Unspeakable Things
2. Parasite II
3. Clerical Sleep
4. Night Vision
5. The Extra Sees the Film
6. Contract Killers
7. The Sound of Music
8. Downtown Area Blues
9. Kennedy Curse
10. The Masked Singer

Kiwi Jr. 2022 Tour Dates

Fri. Jul. 22 – Montreal, QC – Bar le Ritz PDB *
Sat. Jul. 23 – Ottawa, ON – SAW Gallery *
Thu. Jul. 28 – Brooklyn, NY – Baby’s All Right *
Fri. Jul. 29 – Rehoboth Beach, DE – Dogfish Head Brewing *
Sat. Jul. 30 – Washington, DC – Songbyrd Music House *
Sun. Jul. 31 – Philadelphia, PA – Johnny Brenda’s *
Fri. Sep. 16 – Paris, FR – La Boule Noire
Sat. Sep. 17 – Orleans, FR – Hop Pop Hop Festival
Sun. Sep. 18 – Lille, FR – L’ Aeronef
Mon. Sep. 19 – London, UK – Victoria Dalston [SOLD OUT]
Tue. Sep. 20 – London, UK – 100 Club
Wed. Sep. 21 – Brussels, BE – Witloofbar Botanique
Thu. Sep. 22 – Nijmegen, NL – Merelyyn
Fri. Sep 23 – Hamburg, DE – Reeperbahn Festival
Sat. Sep. 24 – Eindhoven, NL – Stoomhuisje
Sun. Sep. 25 – Amsterdam, NL – Paradiso

* w/ Weird Nightmare

Pre-order Chopper by Kiwi.Jr HERE