“Visions” By FRANKIIE

Vancouver band FRANKIIE are back with single/video for “Visions”, the track lifted from their recently announced album Between Dreams, available June 2, via Paper Bag Records.

Vocalist/guitarist Francesca Carbonneau elaborates on the idea behind Visions: “When dreams and memories entangle with our present moment, we can begin to question our entire reality. Visions is about that feeling, about sensing something beyond what’s happening right in front of you…as if right below the surface, anything you’ve ever lost is there; waiting for you to reach out your hand and grab it back. Like déja vu, which is something I experience frequently, a single moment can feel surreal, strange and yet strikingly familiar all at once.”

The video was shot in Deep Cove, Vancouver within the shared, unceded, ancestral territories of the xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam), Sḵwx̱wú7mesh (Squamish), and səlilwətaɬ (Tsleil-Waututh) Nations.

Between Dreams explores our lived experiences in a world constantly shifting and twisting abruptly around us. “What is the dream and what’s reality? What’s normal anymore and does it really matter because you’re just experiencing it all anyways,” says vocalist/keyboardist, Nashlyn Lloyd. “I think that’s all we’re trying to do: just be in this experience and embrace it fully.”

“These songs were following a sense of intuition, and not really trying to have them be anything but what instinctively came out. There was no attempt to stick to a certain genre, or take ourselves too seriously,” says Carbonneau.

They recorded eight tracks in Vancouver with producer Jason Corbett at Jacknife Sound, and two with Connor Head at Catalogue Studio in Victoria. More details about Between Dreams will follow soon.

Between Days
Track List
Paper Bag Records

1. Visions
2. Garden
3. Rich
4. Crystal Eyes
5. Passionfruit
6. Down For You
7. Cruel
8. Right on Time
9. Stone
10. Golden Days

Pre-order Between Dreams by  FRANKIIE HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.