Vinyl Williams Premieres Video For “Mithras”

Vinyl Williams Premieres Video For "Mithras."
Vinyl Williams "Mithras"

Vinyl Williams forthcoming release Azure, is set to drop on June 5th, via Requiem Pour Un Twister. After collaging hundreds of paintings together in a string of new artwork, Williams combined over 25 paintings just to create the album art for the album, attempting to equally represent the complexly organic & decadent music apparent on the record. Ahead of the album’s arrival, Williams has shared, his video for album track “Mithras.”

Williams is equally known for his interactive video worlds, 360º videos, web art, and downloadable environments, inhabited by hyper dimensional palaces you might find in an ultimate future. Azure will be accompanied by a fully-interactive website, where the audience can discover secret symbols hidden in the world, to advance and get to each next song. Vinyl Williams’ live show is a spectacle of pearlescent sights & sounds, with all of Williams’ work combined & sync’d together in rapturous hyper-dimensional moments. He has created virtual music videos for Tears For Fears, Unknown Mortal Orchestra, Spaceface, Morgan Delt, & several other artists.

It’s a good on-ramp to exactly what’s going on with the new record. As a whole, it is an invocation of paradise upon Earth, represented in sound. With homages to The Free Design & Arthur Verocai, the harmony attempted on this album is a delicate tension, floating on an opaque surface between inner & outer worlds. It was recorded from 2018-2020 in Los Angeles, at three locations of Non Plus Ultra (Los Angeles venue).

Vinyl Williams adds: “Allow this album to act as mobile architecture & to be a beautiful space you can exist within, to worship your own talents. You continue on the possibilities of harmony that are already at the blueprint of the manifest world.”

Williams counts himself as “solarpunk” alongside the likes of Mid-Air Theif, The Breathing Effect, Hiatus Kayote, and Stereolab amongst others. And solarpunk, according to Williams, is “about solutions, not warnings. It’s about actively making the sustainable and beautiful future we want. So far, there aren’t many “bands” that resonate with the genre. The Breathing Effect is one band – and they’re from LA too. my art & music is all about creating a more harmonious future, addressing the struggles en route to such a future, and combining the pragmatic with the beautiful. I’m not doing enough by just making virtual worlds & music, I’m getting involved with the preliminary planning of ecological architecture.”

Full list of painters & artists collaged for the art of “Azure”: James McCarthy, Gilbert Williams, Wojtek Siudmak, Raffaelo Ossola, Gustave Moreau, Bruce Pennington, Aec Interesni Kazki, Jim Shaw, David Chewing Lee, David Hardy, Adrian Kenyon, Dustin Yellin, Neo Rauch, Marty Morales, Kate Klingbeil, Shane Moulton, Jordan Speer, Kay Nielsen, Ton Haring, Tuco Amalfi, Mario Martinez, Derek Carpenter, Luke Schroeder, Jonathen Solter, Toshio Matsumoto, James Sienna, Yoshi Sodeoka, Adolph Schaller, Remedios Varo, Roger Dean, Marcelo Germana, Henry Hudson, Sergio Macedo, Waldemar Borowski, Micah Ofstedahl, Christian Riese Lassen, Tokyo Aoyama, Carlos Ochagavia, Derek Sabiston, Brian Cooper, Sam Balfus, Michael Macari, Elvis Barlow Smith, Hiro Isono, Tsunehisa Kimura, Jacquelyn Blair, Rodeny Matthews, Robert McCall, Vangel Naumovski.

Vinyl Williams
Track List

1. LA Egypt
2. Mithras
3. Zum
4. Soft Soul
5. Never Tell The World
6. Machu Picchu
7. Heaven
8. Azure
9. Sunny Moon
10. Magicland
11. Earth Observatory


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.