“Unspoken History” Alex Lahey

Alex Lahey, recently shared her single “Unspoken History,” the third track off her forthcoming release, The Best of Luck Club, out May 17th via Dead Oceans. Following “Am I Doing It Right?” and “Don’t Be So Hard On Yourself.”

From Alex Lahey

“When I was in Nashville, I spent some time in a tiny writing room creating songs for this record,” says Lahey of the new track. “Towards the end of that time, I felt as though I was starting to exhaust my output and was starting to become complacent about what I had left to give. On one of my last days there, I was lent a guitar that was set up in a variation on open D tuning, which is something I never play in. In the process of nutting out chords and voicing in this tuning, the melody to the verses just came out. When I started putting words to it, it started off as being about one thing, but then morphed into something else, creating its own path very organically.”

Alex Lahey
Live

Thu. May 9 – Brighton, UK @ Komedia Brighton
Fri. May 10 – Brighton, UK @ The Walrus
Sat. May 11 – Brighton, UK @ The Great Escape
Sun. May 12 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club
Mon. May 13 – Glasgow, UK @ Broadcast
Wed. May 15 – Belfast, UK @ Empire Music Hall
Thu. May 16 – Dublin, IR @ The Grand Social
Fri. May 17 – Liverpool, UK @ Arts Club
Sun. May 19 – Leicester, UK @ The Cookie
Mon. May 20 – Cardiff, UK @ Clwb Ifor Bach
Thu. May 23 – London, UK @ Oslo
Thu. June 6 – Adelaide, AU @ The Gov
Fri. June 7 – Perth, AU @ Rock Rover
Thu. June 13 – Brisbane, AU @ The Tivoli
Fri. June 14 – Canberra, AU @ The Basement
Sat. June 15 – Sydney, AU @ Metro Theatre
Sat. June 22 – Melbourne, AU @ Forum Melbourne
Fri. Aug. 9 – Sun. Aug. 11 – San Francisco, CA @ Outside Lands
Tue. Aug. 13 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Troubadour
Wed. Aug. 14 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar
Thu. Aug. 16 – Austin, TX @ Antone’s
Sat. Aug. 17 – Dallas, TX @ Deep Ellum Art Co.
Mon. Aug. 19 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
Tue. Aug. 20 – Nashville, TN @ Exit / In
Thu. Aug. 22 – Washington, DC @ U Street Music Hall
Fri. Aug. 23 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
Sat. Aug. 24 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s
Sun. Aug. 25 – Allston, MA @ Great Scott
Tue. Aug. 27 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall
Wed. Aug. 28 – St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club
Sun. Sep. 1 – Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret
Tue. Sep. 3 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge