“Unravel” By Squirrel Flower (Björk cover)

Squirrel Flower AKA: Ella Williams, recently announced her Planet EP, will drop on January 28th via Polyvinyl. Ahead of the release, the artist has shared two tracks, a cover of Björk’s “unravel” and “ruby at dawn.” The EP is a compilation of self-recorded demos of songs that didn’t make it to the record, two songs that were part of the Planet (i) studio session but left off, and a Björk cover. Williams’ hauntingly voice remains at the forefront, with instrumentation that’s both layered and minimal – acoustic guitar, twinkling piano, synth, and the ambient sounds of the city overheard in the background while Williams was recording. On today’s cover of Björk’s Homogenic “unravel,” Williams highlights the iconic vocal melody in a blanket of reverb and fuzz. In Williams’ words, “I filmed the ‘unravel’ video by projecting open source footage of underwater lava cooling into rock over myself. I love the way the lava unravels and moves, looks like yarn, looks like a heart. It represents to me the tension and pain and exuberance of love.”

“I’ve always felt that the pieces and process and secrets behind a finished record are the most important parts,” says Williams. “Most of these songs showcase my own production and exact vision, my first time in a long time releasing music that I’ve produced alone. Releasing this EP is an exercise in self trust and experimentation. Not all songs need to be precious and kept for the exact right time, not all recordings need to be perfect.”

Winter 2022, Squirrel Flower will kick off her world tour. Following a lengthy run in the United States, she’ll bring her live show to the UK and Europe.

Squirrel Flower
Planet
Track List

1. open wound
2. your love is a disaster
3. unravel
4. long day’s done
5. sitting in traffic
6. ruby at dawn
7. live wire

Squirrel Flower
2022 Live Dates

Thu. Feb. 3 – Urbana, IL @ Rose Bowl Tavern %
Fri. Feb. 4 – Columbus, OH @ Rumba Cafe %
Sat. Feb. 5 – Hamtramck, MI @ The Sanctuary %
Sun. Feb. 6 – Lakewood, OH @ Mahall’s 20 Lanes %
Mon. Feb. 7 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Club Cafe %
Wed. Feb. 9 – New York, NY @ Mercury Lounge %
Thu. Feb. 10 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair %
Fri. Feb. 11 – Brooklyn, NY @ Baby’s All Right &
Sat. Feb. 12 – Philadelphia, PA @ PhilaMOCA &
Mon. Feb. 14 – Washington, DC @ Songbyrd &
Wed. Feb. 16 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle – Back Room &
Thu. Feb. 17 – Atlanta, GA @ The Masquerade (Purgatory) &
Fri. Feb. 18 – Nashville, TN @ The High Watt &
Sat. Feb. 19 – Louisville, KY @ Zanzabar &
Sun. Feb. 20 – Chicago, IL @ Schubas Tavern &
Wed. March 2 – St. Louis, MO @ Blueberry Hill Duck Room @
Thu. March 3 – Fayetteville, AR @ George’s Majestic Lounge @
Fri. March 4 – Dallas, TX @ Ruins @
Sat. March 5 – Austin, TX @ Meanwhile Brewing @
Mon. March 7- Tucson, AZ @ Club Congress @
Tue. March 8 – San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar @
Wed. March 9 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo @
Thu. March 10 – San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop @
Sat. March 12 – Portland, OR @ Polaris Hall @
Sun. March 13 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza @
Tue. March 15 – Boise, ID @ The Shredder @
Thu. March 17 – Denver, CO @ Lost Lake Lounge @
Sat. March 19 – Omaha, NE @ Reverb @
Sun. March 20 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry @
Sun. April 17 – Glasgow, UK @ Nice N Sleazy
Mon. April 18 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club
Wed. April 20 – Manchester, UK @ The White Hotel
Thu. April 21 – London, UK @ Lafayette
Sat. April 23 – Bristol, UK @ The Louisiana
Sun. April 24 – Brighton, UK @ The Green Door Store
Tue. April 26 – Cologne, DE @ Blue Shell
Wed. April 27 – Luxembourg, LU @ Rotondes
Thu. April 28 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow Skybar
Fri. April 29 – Berlin, DE @ Badehaus
Sun. May 1 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso (Small Hall)
Tue. May 3 – Zürich, CH @ Bogen F
Wed. May 4 – Paris, FR @ Hasard Ludique
Thu. May 5 – Gent, BE @ Charlatan

% w/ Mia Joy
& w/ Christelle Bofale
@ w/ Tenci
$ w/ Maria BC

Pre-order Planet by Squirrel Flower HERE