UK’s Citizens! Release Here We Are

London’s five-piece Citizens! recorded their 11-track-debut in Scotland last year with Alex Kapranos of Franz Ferdinand. The result is Hear We Are. After touring Europe the band is to release their debut in the States on October 9th via Kitsuné / Cooperative Music and their first ever American tour will start October 11th in Los Angeles.

Citizens!’s first single “True Romance” can be heard Soundcloud HERE and see their elegant take on style in the video HERE, which is composed with footage from the 1987 Telugu movie “Pasivadi Pranam” starring the legendary Chiranjeevi. Look out for an official video for the single shortly.

The band is going on their first-ever American tour as part of the OOHLALA! Tour with Tomorrow’s World (Jean-Benoit Dunckel from Air and Lou Hayter), Housse De Racket and Lescop will play exclusives shows in Los Angeles (10/11), San Francisco (10/12), Montreal (10/13) and New York (10/16), see the flyers HERE.

“We had a strict set of rules that we forced ourselves to abide by. One was we weren’t allowed to do any studio trickery, so there’s no autotune or correcting mistakes or anything on the record. And then there was the idea that no element of any given song was allowed to sound as if it came from the same place. So the main idea behind “True Romance” was, ‘Kanye West producing an Arcade Fire song’. Or maybe it’s the other way round… But it’s the thing of doing what people least expect, but making it sound addictive and exciting.”

Citizens! are:
Tom Burke (vocals)
Thom Rhoades (guitar)
Martyn Richmond (bass)
Lawrence Diamond (keyboards / guitar)
Mike Evans (drums)

Citizens! Live Dates:
10/11 – Los Angeles, CA @ El Rey (Kitsuné Maison Night /OOHLALA!)
10/12 – San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop (OOHLALA!)
10/16 – Montreal, CAN @ Evenko (OOHLALA!)
10/17 – New York, NY @ Highline Ballroom (OOHLALA!)
10/18 – New York, NY @ CMJ (details tbd)
10/19 – New York, NY @ CMJ (details tbd)
10/20 – New York, NY @ CMJ (details tbd)

Citizens! Daytrotter Session HERE
Citizens! “True Romance” Soundcloud HERE and video HERE
Citizens! “Caroline” video HERE

Citizens! – Here We Are tracklist:
01. True Romance
02. Reptile
03. Caroline
04. Love You More
05. Let’s Go All The Way
06. (I’m In Love With Your) Girlfriend
07. Nobody’s Fool
08. Monster
09. She Said
10. I Wouldn’t Want To
11. Know Yourself