UK supergroup collaborate for Minor Victories

Minor Victories the new UK supergroup, featuring members of Mogwai. Slowdive, and Editors,

Minor Victories, is the new UK supergroup comprised of Mogwai’s Stuart Braithwaite, Slowdive’s Rachel Goswell, and Editors’ Justin Lockey and his brother James. Today, the band announced its self-titled debut album today. What began as Justin’s desire to create an extreme noise EP topped off by a delicate female vocals, Minor Victories became a cinematic 10-track LP, masterfully crafted by four band members who have somehow never even all been in the same room together. Produced and engineered by Justin, and featuring the likes of Mark Kozelek and James Graham from The Twilight Sad, Minor Victories will be released on June 3rd, 2016 via Fat Possum Records.

The first taste of Minor Victories’ debut is the haunting, synth-driven “A Hundred Ropes,” which is available to stream now. “A Hundred Ropes” is accompanied by a video filmed by the Lockey brothers’ video and film partnership entitled Hand Held Cine Club. The first in a series of shorts that will be released over the next few months, the video exhibits the band’s visual aesthetic and further represents the non-conventional route that Minor Victories have taken thus far.

Brought together by brief meetings, mutual acquaintances and overall serendipity, Minor Victories created this album together by swapping ideas, songs, fragments and finished recordings via broadband connections. The freedom and immediacy in this exchanging of ideas – plus the fact that all four members have barely spent any time together recording or writing – only adds to the heart of the project. This unusual process, combined with the members’ wide spectrum of musical tastes converging, ultimately led to something beyond the original vision of any of the contributors.

“Starting a band where some of the people have never met each other is something I’ve never heard of,” says Stuart”. James adds, “I’ve made a record with people I’d never have imagined I would have the chance to work with,”while Rachel describes it as “the most exciting thing I’ve done to date.”As for Justin, whose itch began the whole process, he still hasn’t quite worked out what his little noise EP has become but is beginning to think that, “we’ve stealthily made the record I always have wanted to make without me actually realizing it.”


1. Give Up The Ghost
2. A Hundred Ropes
3. Breaking My Light
4. Scattered Ashes (Song for Richard) ft. James Graham
5. Folk Arp
6. Cogs
7. For You Always ft. Mark Kozelek
8. Out To Sea
9. The Thief
10. Higher Hopes


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.