Tycho’s “Plains” gets remixed by Baio

Tycho "Plains" gets remixed by Baio (Vampire Weekend), 2016 DJ set tour announced;

Scott Hansen, the San Francisco musician better known as Tycho. Described by Hansen as, “in many ways, the first True Tycho record,” Awake announced the arrival of Tycho as a full band, and it found Hansen streamlining the group’s sound, focusing on the drums and aiming to capture the energy and power of the group’s live set. The story of Awake arrives at its natural conclusion with this 12” of remixes, on which Hansen’s songs are re-interpreted by producers who make the songs their own while retaining all of their core elements. The digital release is out January 15th on Ghostly International, with the physical release set for a May 20th release.

Baio, who splits his time between solo work and his role as bassist in Vampire Weekend, gives “Plains” a kind of soulfulness, adding a driving rhythm to the original’s beatless ambience and dropping in snatches of vocal for texture and warmth. The track recently premiered on Zane Lowe’s Beats 1 radio show. RJD2 takes the swift-kicking “Apogee” and transforms it into tranquil instrumental funk; In the hands of Few Nolder,“Montana” becomes tense and driving, four-on-the-floor beat undergirding bright, rippling synths.

Additional remixes from Com Truise, Christopher Willits, Bibio and Beacon, which had been previously released, have been added to this package. Taken together, the Awake Remixes offer a parallel narrative for Tycho’s artistic breakthrough. Additionally, the digital only Deluxe Version (link coming soon) of Awake now includes the original version of “Awake” and all eight remixes available on the Awake Remixes album.

Awake Remixes
Out January 15th, 2016 (digital) + May 20th, 2016 (physical)

01. Awake (Com Truise Remix)
02. Montana (Christopher Willits Remix)
03. L (Dusty Brown Remix)
04. Dye (Nitemoves Remix)
05. See (Beacon Remix)
06. Apogee (RJD2 Remix)
07. Spectre (Bibio Remix)
08. Plains (Baio Remix)
09. Montana (Few Nolder Remix)

Awake (Deluxe Version)
Out January 15th, 2016 (digital only)

01. Awake
02. Montana
03. L
04. Dye
05. See
06. Apogee
07. Spectre
08. Plains
09. Awake (Com Truise Remix)
10. Montana (Christopher Willits Remix)
11. L (Dusty Brown Remix)
12. Dye (Nitemoves Remix)
13. See (Beacon Remix)
14. Apogee (RJD2 Remix)
15. Spectre (Bibio Remix)
16. Plains (Baio Remix)
17. Montana (Few Nolder Remix)

12.12 Mumbai, India @ The Journey w/ Giorgio Moroder & Explosions in the Sky
12.31 San Francisco, CA @ The Big One w/ The Flaming Lips & Ratatat
04.07-10 Austin, TX @ Euphoria Festival w/ Bassnectar, STS9 & Dillon Francis


02.10 Denver, CO @ Club Vinyl *
02.11 San Diego, CA @ Bang Bang *
02.12 Tucson, AZ @ Gem & Jam Festival
02.13 Los Angeles, CA @ Exchange LA *
02.16 Miami, FL @ Bardot *
02.17 Washington, DC @ Flash *
02.18 Brooklyn, NY @ Output *
02.19 Chicago, IL @ The Mid *
02.20 Detroit, MI @ Populux *
* – w/ Nitemoves