The Twilight Sad Share Robert Smith Cover

The Twilight Sad Share Robert Smith Cover of " There's a Girl in the corner."

Late last year, Scotland’s The Twilight Sad released their fourth album, Nobody Wants to Be Here and Nobody Wants to Leave. On June 15th, they’re set to return with a new single from the album, “It Never Was the Same,” bolstered by the inclusion of a Robert Smith (The Cure) cover of – and early single – “There’s a Girl in the Corner” as its AA-side, via FatCat Records.

Today, both the band and Robert have unveiled Robert’s take on the track. Andy MacFarlane – the band’s guitarist – has described how after receiving an email from Mogwai’s Stuart Braithwaite: “For as far back as I can remember we have all been huge fans of the Cure, so reading that was obviously very mind blowing. Although I was always slightly skeptical, thinking it was maybe Barry Burns from Mogwai, trying to pull some elaborate joke on us.”

The band had hoped Smith might be able to contribute to an album of remixes drawn from their third album, No One Can Ever Know, but alas owing to other commitments it wasn’t to be. As MacFarlane explains though, it wasn’t the end of their relationship with Smith: “After we recorded Nobody Wants To Be Here And Nobody Wants To Leave I sent it to Robert to have a listen, and he said it was ‘BEAUTIFUL’. We wanted to do something special for the ‘It Never Was the Same’ single, as it was going to be the last release from the album. I knew it was a pretty far fetched idea but thought I might as well chance my arm and ask Robert if he’d be up for covering one of our songs to feature as a double A-side. I couldn’t believe it when he replied saying he’d like to cover ‘There’s a Girl in the Corner.”

“He sent it over when we were playing San Francisco in March, and we listened to it over and over in the van, driving out after the gig. Hearing someone that we’ve all looked up to for so long sing and play one of our songs is definitely one of the most surreal moments that we’ve ever had.”

You can hear ‘It Never Was the Same” here, and Robert Smith’s cover of ‘There’s a Girl in the Corner’ here The limited run 7″ version of the single will be available from June 15th on FatCat Records.

1. There’s a Girl in the Corner
2. Last January
3. I Could Give You All That You Don’t Want
4. It Never Was the Same
5. Drown so I Can Watch
6. In Nowheres
7. Nobody Wants to Be Here and Nobody Wants to Leave
8. Pills I Swallow
9. Leave the House
10. Sometimes I Wished I Could Fall Asleep

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.