“Tunnels and Trains” by The Domestics

The Domestics’ Little Darkness, comes out September 1st via Tender Loving Empire. The Domestics recently premiered the video for the album track “Tunnels and Trains”. The full-length was Produced by Tucker Martine (Modest Mouse, My Morning Jacket, The Decemberists, Laura Veirs), the album was crafted by Leo London and Michael Finn in the wake of a pair of failed relationships following the band’s extensive 2015 U.S. tour with Blitzen Trapper.

Finn, who works with Martine as an engineer at Portland’s Flora Recording, teamed with the producer on the new album to create a sound distinct from the more organic, acoustic feel for which Martine has come to be known. Experimenting with a plethora of effects and found sounds such as crowd noise, hissing toy robots and chains dropping on a studio floor, the group would routinely spend upwards of 16 hours a day working in the studio while recording. “It felt like the culmination of the past five years spent working with Tucker, having built that rapport and aligning our workflow the way we have, and then getting to apply all that to these songs of Leo’s that we had developed such high expectations for,” explains Finn. “It’s the most rewarding process I’ve ever been apart of.”

Centered around the songwriting of London and Finn, The Domestics are rounded out by band members Kyle Moderhak (drums), Matt Moore (bass) and Brad Norton (keys).

The Domestics

1. Love That Dress
2. Tunnels and Trains
3. Little Darkness
4. For the Last Time
5. Going Down the Wrong Way
6. Trampoline Girl
7. Suicide Hotline Sign
8. Good Not Great
9. Synthetic Girl
10. Less Light
11. Our Light


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.