“Tumbling Down” by Summer Flake

Earlier this month, Summer Flake AKA: Stephanie Crase released Hello Friends LP on Rice is Nice. Recently, Summer Flake premiered the video for “Tumbling Down” off of the record.

Drenched in a timelessness of reverb, Summer Flake’s songs are transcendent – moving through the dreamy wings of pop, via the Crystals and the Paris Sisters, down the lonely byways of Karen Dalton and Laurel Canyon folkies, ambling up into the grubby 90s of Hole and Sonic Youth, before lingering out finally into the sunshine of other dream-pop contemporaries like Best Coast or Mac Demarco.

Hello Friends continues Crase’s tendency for the thoughtful arrangements, ’90s-tinged frankness and dizzying harmonies that have led her from strength to strength, this time adding a deeper layer of emotional reflection to an already enduring sound. These songs, as delicate as a snowflake on a summer beach, succeed in unmooring one from the drudgeries of place and time.

Hello Friends Tracklisting

01. Son Of A Gun
02. Shoot And Score
03. I’d Ask You Not To Look Away
04. Make Your Way Back To Me
05. Tumbling Down
06. So Long
07. Wine Won’t Wash Away
08. Satellite
09. Look How Far We’ve Come
10. Mess


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.